Sunderland MPs welcome Sir Keir Starmer's Labour leadership win

Sunderland MPs have welcomed Sir Keir Starmer’s Labour leadership win.

Sunday, 5th April 2020, 12:07 pm
Updated Sunday, 5th April 2020, 1:25 pm
Bridget Phillipson

The human rights lawyer secured an overwhelming victory, securing more than 56% of the votes in the first round.

Sir Keir won 275,780 votes out of 490,731 returned votes in total, equivalent to 56.2%, more votes than Jeremy Corbyn, though a slightly smaller share of the vote. Rebecca Long-Bailey and Lisa Nandy won 135,218 votes (27.6%) and 79,597 (16.2%) respectively.

Angela Rayner won the third round of the deputy leadership contest with 228,944 votes -52.6%.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Julie Elliott

Rosena Allin-Khan came second with 113,858 (26.1%) while Richard Burgon was third with 92,643 votes (21.3%).

Houghton and Sunderland South MP Office of Bridget Phillipson said: “I'm incredibly pleased that Keir Starmer has been elected leader of the Labour Party.

“This news comes at a hugely challenging time for our country due to the COVID-19 outbreak. With Keir as leader I'm sure we will work with the Government in the best interests of our country, while also being an effective and constructive opposition.

“I was delighted to back Keir throughout his positive campaign. I will be proud to work alongside him in Parliament to make a real difference to our community in the months and years ahead, to unite our party, and re-gain the trust of the British people.”

Sir Keir Starmer MP visited Sunderland BIC last years for Brexit talks

Her Sunderland Central colleague Julie Elliott added: “Congratulations to Keir Starmer on becoming leader of the Labour Party – a huge victory.

“I am sure he will lead the Labour Party to be the credible alternative Government we need to be.”