This is who Sunderland fans have named as the club's best ever loan signing - after thousands of votes

Sunderland fans have named Jonny Evans as the club’s best ever loanee - after the Echo launched a search for supporters’ favourite temporary signing.
Sunderland fans have voted for the club's best-ever loan signingSunderland fans have voted for the club's best-ever loan signing
Sunderland fans have voted for the club's best-ever loan signing

After a knockout competition involving 16 former Black Cats, Evans has come out on top - with thousands of supporters voting for their favourite players throughout the course of our ‘Sunderland AFC World Cup of Loanees’.

Signed by Roy Keane in the Black Cats’ promotion-winning season of 2006/07, Evans spent two seasons on Wearside on loan from Manchester United as he helped the club back to the Premier League before then helping the Black Cats establish themselves back in the top flight.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

He made 35 appearances across his two seasons at the Stadium of Light, scoring once.

The Leicester City centre back pipped Yann M’Vila to the gold medal after a close-fought final, in which Evans claimed a marginal victory having secured 51.5% of the vote.

Third-place fell to Fabio Borini, while Marcos Alonso was voted as the fourth most popular loanee in the club’s recent history.

Below are the full results from the Sunderland AFC World Cup of Loanees - which saw four groups of four players filter into a knockout stage.

Group A

Marcos Alonso - 66.1%

John Mensah - 26.1%

Ki Sung-yeung - 10%

Danny Simpson - 2.3%

Group B

Yann M’Vila - 85.5%

Martin Fulop - 4%

Nedum Onuoha - 3.8%

Group C

Jonny Evans - 44.7%

Shay Given - 23.5%

Djibril Cisse - 20.1%

Danny Welbeck - 11.6%

Group D

Fabio Borini - 50.1%

Danny Rose - 40.6%

Mart Poom - 8%

DeAndre Yedlin - 1.2%

Quarter Finals

Marcos Alonso (86.7%) v Stewart Downing (12.4%)

John Mensah (16.1%) v Yann M’Vila (83.9%)

Jonny Evans (70.4%) v Danny Rose (29.6%)

Shay Given (37.7%) v Fabio Borini (62.3%)

Semi Finals

Yann M’Vila (58%) v Marcos Alonso (42%)

Jonny Evans (53.3%) v Fabio Borini (46.7%)

Third Place Play-Off

Marcos Alonso (47.7%) v Fabio Borini (52.3%)


Jonny Evans (51.5%) v Yann M’Vila (48.5%)