Sunderland to kick off their new campaign at home to Wigan Athletic as full fixture list is revealed

Sunderland will welcome Wigan Athletic to the Stadium of Light on the first day of the new League One campaign.

Thursday, 24th June 2021, 9:00 am
Updated Thursday, 24th June 2021, 9:00 am

Leam Richardson’s side, who last week confirmed the signing of former Black Cats captain Max Power, will travel to the north east for a 3pm kick off on Saturday, August 7th.

Lee Johnson’s side will then travel to MK Dons the following Saturday, before facing Burton Albion at the Pirelli Stadium on Tuesday August 17th.

Fixtures at home to AFC Wimbledon and Gareth Ainsworth’s Wycombe Wanderers complete the opening month of the campaign.

Sign up to our Sunderland AFC newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Sunderland will begin their campaign against Wigan Athletic
Sunderland will begin their campaign against Wigan Athletic

However, the EFL have warned that Wycombe Wanderers could yet be replaced by Derby County in League One for next season.

The Rams have been fined £100,000 for breaching FFP rules, but this decisions by an independent commission could yet be appealed and a harsher sanction imposed.

As such, on the eve of the fixtures the EFL warned that they should be seen as ‘interchangeable’.

Elsewhere, Sunderland have been handed a trip to Doncaster Rovers on Boxing Day, and will welcome Fleetwood Town on New Year’s day.

They will close their campaign away to newly-promoted Morecambe.

Sunderland will also learn their Carabao Cup first round opponents later today. The draw will take place live on Sky Sports at 3.30pm, with the Papa John’s Trophy group stage draw to take place an hour later.

The Black Cats have already been placed in a group with Bradford and Lincoln City, and will be joined by one of the eight northern U21 invited sides, including Newcastle United.

Sunderland’s fixture list in full

August 7 - Wigan Athletic (H)

August 14 - MK Dons (A)

August 17 - Burton Albion (A)

August 21 - AFC Wimbledon (H)

August 28 - Wycombe Wanderers (H)

September 4 - Sheffield Wednesday (A)

September 11 - Accrington Stanley (H)

September 18 - Fleetwood Town (A)

September 25 - Bolton Wanderers (H)

September 28 - Cheltenham Town (H)

October 2 - Portsmouth (A)

October 9 - Oxford United (H)

October 16 - Gillingham (A)

October 19 - Crewe Alexandra (A)

October 23 - Charlton Athletic (H)

October 30 - Rotherham United (A)

November 13 - Lincoln City (H)

November 20 - Ipswich Town (H)

November 23 - Shrewsbury Town (A)

November 27 - Cambridge United (A)

December 7 - Morecambe (H)

December 11 - Plymouth Argyle (H)

December 18 - Ipswich Town (A)

December 26 - Doncaster Rovers (A)

December 29 - Sheffield Wednesday (H)

January 1 - Fleetwood Town (H)

January 8 - Wycombe Wanderers (A)

January 15 - Accrington Stanley (A)

January 22 - Portsmouth (H)

January 29 - Bolton Wanderers (A)

February 5 - Doncaster Rovers (H)

February 8 - Cheltenham Town (A)

February 12 - AFC Wimbledon (A)

February 19 - MK Dons (H)

February 22 - Burton Albion (H)

February 26 - Wigan Athletic (A)

March 5 - Charlton Athletic (A)

March 12 - Crewe Alexandra (H)

March 19 - Lincoln City (A)

March 26 - Rotherham United (H)

April 2 - Gillingham (H)

April 9 - Oxford United (A)

April 15 - Shrewsbury Town (H)

April 18 - Plymouth Argyle (A)

April 23 - Cambridge United (H)

April 30 - Morecambe (A)