See the fixture list in full as Sunderland are handed challenging start to their League One campaign

Sunderland have been handed a testing start to their League One campaign as they bid to win promotion at the third attempt.

Friday, 21st August 2020, 9:34 am

The Black Cats will begin their campaign at the Stadium of Light against Bristol Rovers, who have been one of the most active sides in the transfer market this summer.

A tricky run then follows, with Phil Parkinson’s side then travelling to last season’s play-off finalists Oxford United.

Games against promotion hopefuls Peterborough United, Charlton Athletic and Blackpool then follow.

Sign up to our Sunderland AFC newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Sunderland will begin their League One campaign at the Stadium of Light

Sunderland are again at home on Boxing Day, when they face Grant McCann’s Hull City.

They travel to newly-promoted Northampton Town on January 2nd, who will then visit the Stadium of Light on the final day of the season.

The campaign is set to begin behind closed doors, with EFL clubs remaining hopeful that they will be able to welcome some fans back with reduced capacities and strict social distancing measures from October 1st.

SEPTEMBER

Sat 12 Sept Bristol Rovers H

Sat 19 Sept Oxford United A

Sat 26 Sept Peterborough United H

OCTOBER

Sat 03 Oct Charlton Athletic A

Sat 10 Oct Blackpool H

Sat 17 Oct Swindon Town A

Tue 20 Oct Crewe Alexandra H

Sat 24 Oct Portsmouth H

Tue 27 Oct Rochdale A

Sat 31 Oct Gillingham A

NOVEMBER

Tue 03 Nov Ipswich Town H

Sat 14 Nov Milton Keynes Dons H

Sat 21 Nov Doncaster Rovers A

Tue 24 Nov Fleetwood Town A

DECEMBER

Tue 1 Dec Burton Albion H

Sat 05 Dec Wigan Athletic H

Sat 12 Dec Lincoln City A

Tue 15 Dec AFC Wimbledon H

Sat 19 Dec Shrewsbury Town A

Sat 26 Dec Hull City H

Tue 29 Dec Accrington Stanley A

JANUARY

Sat 02 Jan Northampton Town A

Sat 09 Jan Plymouth Argyle H

Sat 16 Jan AFC Wimbledon A

Sat 23 Jan Shrewsbury Town H

Tue 26 Jan Ipswich Town A

Sat 30 Jan Gillingham H

FEBRUARY

Sat 06 Feb Milton Keynes Dons A

Sat 13 Feb Doncaster Rovers H

Sat 20 Feb Burton Albion A

Tue 23 Feb Fleetwood Town H

Sat 27 Feb Crewe Alexandra A

MARCH

Tue 02 Mar Swindon Town H

Sat 06 Mar Rochdale H

Tue 09 Mar Portsmouth A

Sat 13 Mar Wigan Athletic A

Sat 20 Mar Lincoln City H

Sat 27 Mar Bristol Rovers A

APRIL

Fri 02 Apr Oxford United H

Mon 05 Apr Peterborough United A

Sat 10 Apr Charlton Athletic H

Sat 17 Apr Blackpool A

Tue 20 Apr Hull City A

Sat 24 Apr Accrington Stanley H

MAY

Sat 01 May Plymouth Argyle A

Sat 08 May Northampton Town H