Corrie, EastEnders and Emmerdale red-carded during World Cup - here's when you can catch your favourite soaps

By The Newsroom
Friday, 8th June 2018, 10:48 am
Updated Friday, 8th June 2018, 12:59 pm

Soap addicts look away now.

The World Cup kicks off on Thursday (14 June) and Coronation Street, Emmerdale and EastEnders are all affected by this summer's football extravaganza in Russia, with the BBC and ITV showing live matches throughout the tournament.

That's the bad news for soap fans. The good news is that during the first full week of the World Cup, Corrie will have hour-long specials to replace the scrapped episodes.

EastEnders fans will be happy to hear there will be two episodes on Monday, June 18 to make up for Tuesday's episode being binned. Then, on the Thursday (21 June), the soap will begin at 9.10pm.

Most Popular

    Emmerdale will have several hour-long episodes during the tournament, starting at 7pm.

    The changes will come into effect from the week beginning June 18.

    TV schedules have now been confirmed up to Friday, June 22 - but you can be sure the World Cup will continue to dominate the prime-time slots until the final is staged on July 15.

    Here's what you can expect:

    Monday, June 11

    7pm: Emmerdale

    7.30pm: Coronation Street

    8pm: EastEnders

    8.30pm: Coronation Street

    Tuesday, June 12

    7pm: Emmerdale (hour-long episode)

    7.30pm: EastEnders

    The World Cup will dominate TV schedules for the next few weeks

    Wednesday, June 13

    7pm: Emmerdale

    7.30pm: Coronation Street

    8.30pm: Coronation Street

    Thursday, June 14

    7pm: Emmerdale

    7.30pm: EastEnders

    8pm: Emmerdale

    Friday, June 15

    7pm: Emmerdale (hour-long episode)

    8pm: Coronation Street (hour-long episode)

    9.10pm: EastEnders

    Monday, June 18

    9.25pm: EastEnders (hour-long episode)

    No Coronation Street or Emmerdale.

    Tuesday, June 19

    7pm: Emmerdale (hour-long episode)

    8pm: Coronation Street (hour-long episode)

    No EastEnders.

    Wednesday, June 20

    8pm: Holby City

    No Emmerdale or Coronation Street.

    Thursday, June 21

    7pm: Emmerdale (hour-long episode)

    8pm: Coronation Street (hour-long episode)

    9.10pm: EastEnders

    Friday, June 22

    7pm: Emmerdale (hour-long episode)

    8pm: Coronation Street (hour-long episode)

    9.10pm: EastEnders