Sunderland's Paul '˜The Jug' Williams is Knack Premier League Champion for a third consecutive year

Sunderland's number one, Paul '˜The Jug' Williams, once again showed his class as he became the Knack Premier League Champion for a third consecutive year.
Darts player, Paul Williams.Darts player, Paul Williams.
Darts player, Paul Williams.

Williams won his his fourth title in five years beating league winner, Dave Prins, 10-8 in a repeat of last year’s final and scoreline.

Williams found himself 5-0 behind as Prins flew out of the blocks with 15, 16, 13, 19 and 20 darters.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Williams rallied to win 10 of the next 13 legs including best legs of 13, 14, 15, 16, 16, 17, 18, 18 and 20 darts with two maximums, while Prins hit a stunning seven 180s in defeat.

In the semi finals, Williams was superb as he beat, arguably, the favourite for the title in Ryan Joyce with a 8-5 win.

He hit two 180s and winning legs of 13, 13, 14, 14, 15, 17, 18 and 20 darts with Joyce, who has secured qualification for the televised BDO World Championships at the Lakeside in January, hitting back in 15,16 and three 18-darters.

In his semi-final, Prins hit three 180’s on his way to an excellent 8-4 win over Richard Selby, with winning legs in 14, 16, 17 (three), 20, 20 and 21 darts, with Selby replying in 19, 19, 20 and 21 darts.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

In the quarter-finals, Williams was pushed hard by Geordie Morton as both players hit 12 darters as they shared the opening eight legs.

But it was Williams who took the last four legs without reply to book his place in the semis.

Williams also hit 14, 15, 16. 16. 18 and 18 dart legs with Morton accompanying his 12 darter with 14 and two 20 darters.

In his quater, Prins raced into a 5-0 lead over Davey Thompson in 13, 15, 16, 16 and 19 darts, including a 137 finish, before Thompson found his range to win the next three legs in 18, 15 and 18 darts.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

But four missed doubles in the next halted Thompson’s revival as Prins raced to an 8-3 win, with further legs of 19, 19 and 15 darts.

In the other quarters, Ryan Joyce blew Neil Rose to one side with a comfortable 8-1 win despite sharing the opening two legs with two maximums a piece and 14, 16, 17, 17 and 18 darters by Joyce the highlights.

Richard Selby hit 14, 16, 18, 18, 19 and 20 darters on his way to an 8-5 win over Lee Walton, who had 17, 19, 19 and 21 dart legs while both hit a 180.

In the last 12, Lee Walton hit a 120 finish and best legs of 15, 16,17, 19 and 20 darts on the way to an 8-3 win over Anth Skelton whose winning legs came in 19, 20 and 21 darts.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Geordie Morton was a surprising 8-6 winner over Felling’s Paul McGowan in a game which saw missed doubles galore by both players.

Neil Rose produced his best display of the season as he pulled off a shock 8-3 win over former champion Graham Mullen, with Rose hitting two maximums, a 116 checkout and winning legs of 14, 15, 16, 17, 17, 17, 18 and 21 darts, with Mullen replying in 14, 18 and 20 darts.

Davey Thompson defied four maximums from Eddie Ashman with two of his own and excellent finishes of 146 and 120 to record an excellent 8-4 win.

The league would like to say a big thank you to all the players in what has been another great season and look forward to the majority of them returning around the end of January where it all starts again.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

They would also like to say a massive thank you to sponsors, The Knack Club, The Alexandra at Grangetown, Red Dragon Darts and Oakleaf Kitchens for their continued support.

Total prize money was £5,005.