Sunderland boss David Moyes safe despite leading Premier League sack race

David Moyes and Middlesbrough's Aitor Karanka lead the standings Premier League managers least want to be at the front of '“ the sack race.
David MoyesDavid Moyes
David Moyes

The Sunderland boss is evens in the odds to be the next top flight boss to lose his job with the Black Cats at the foot of the table with only two points.

Bookmakers BoyleSports have Karanka as the joint second favourite at 13-2 after Boro have gone on a six-match run without a win.

However, it is understood Moyes is in no immediate danger.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

There is discontent on Wearside after another poor start to the season, though Moyes, appointed just three weeks before the start of the campaign, has been beset by injury problems.

Some fans have even called for predecessor Sam Allardyce’s return following his short, ill-fated spell with England.

But chairman, Ellis Short, who has been a long-term admirer of the Scot is unlikely to have his finger on the trigger.

Sunderland are desperate to end a cycle which has seen no fewer than eight men handed the reins on a permanent basis since Roy Keane vacated the hot-seat at the Stadium of Light in December 2008.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Short installed Moyes and chief executive Martin Bain during the summer and charged them with the task of creating the stability they have craved in recent years.

A recognition that repeated sackings have failed to address the underlying issues, a realisation that the playing staff needs to be further strengthened and the fact that for all the current situation is alarming, it is still only October means that the Scot will remain at the helm.

BoyleSports odds on next manager to leave post:

David Moyes Evens

Aitor Karanka 13-2

Tony Pulis 13-2

Slaven Billic 15-2

Antonio Conte 10-1

Mark Hughes 12-1

Alan Pardew 14-1

Sean Dyche 16-1

Eddie Howe 25-1

Bob Bradley 25-1

Walter Mazzarri 25-1

Claude Puel 25-1

Jose Mourinho 33-1

Claudio Ranieri 33-1

Arsene Wenger 50-1

Ronald Koeman 66-1

Mauricio Pochettino 80-1

Jurgen Klopp 80-1

Josep Guardiola 100-1