Revealed: The full list of 2017 General Election candidates in Sunderland

The list of candidates standing in Sunderland's three constituencies in the 2017 General Election has been confirmed.

Thursday, 11th May 2017, 4:16 pm
Updated Friday, 12th May 2017, 12:03 pm
17 candidates are contesting Sunderland's three parliamentary seats

The deadline for nominations in the Houghton and Sunderland South, Sunderland Central and Washington and Sunderland West Parliamentary constituencies has now closed.

In total, 17 candidates are contesting the three seats, which have previously been held by Labour, when Wearside goes to the polling stations on June 8.

The list of candidates is as follows:

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise


Richard Peter Bradley (Green)

Paul John Edgeworth (Liberal Democrat)

Paul Howell (Conservative)

Michael Anthony Joyce (UKIP)

Bridget Maeve Phillipson (Labour)

Mick Watson (Independent)


Sean Christopher Cockburn (Independent)

Julie Elliott (Labour)

Rachel Sara Featherstone (Green)

Niall Dane Hodson (Liberal Democrat)

Gary James Leighton (UKIP)

Robert Geoffrey Oliver (Conservative)


Tom Appleby (Liberal Democrat)

Michal Chantkowski (Green)

Bryan George Foster (UKIP)

Jonathan Edward Gullis (Conservative)

Sharon Hodgson (Labour)

More than 205,000 people are already on the city's electoral register with more than 85,000 opting for a postal ballot.

Sunderland's Returning Officer, Irene Lucas, said: "To be able to vote at the parliamentary election, residents must either be on the electoral register or have applied to be on by no later than Monday, May 22.

"I’d advise anyone who hasn’t already done so to register as soon as possible. If you are not on the register you will not be able to vote in the election."

Anyone who has not yet registered to vote can contact the council's Electoral Services team immediately on 0191 520 5550 or register online at