Sunderland's local election runners and riders - everything you need to know

The final list of candidates standing for election to Sunderland City Council has been confirmed.

Thursday, 8th April 2021, 8:30 pm

The deadline for nominations closed at 4pm today, Thursday, April 8.

Polling Day is Thursday, May 6, for both the council election and the Northumbria Police and Crime Commissioner election.

Anyone who has not yet registered to vote is urged to do so immediately at candidates for each ward are:

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Sunderland goes to the polls next month


Rebecca Sarah Atkinson, Labour Party

Richard Dunn, The Conservative Party Candidate

Tim Ellis, Liberal Democrat

Alyson Kordbarlag, Green Party candidate


Tony Clarke, UKIP

Allen Curtis, Liberal Democrat

Gwennyth Gibson, The Conservative Party Candidate

Denny Wilson, Labour Party

Copt Hill

George Edward Brown, The Conservative Party Candidate

Reg Coulson, UKIP

John Defty, UKIP

Tracy Dodds, Labour Party

Esme Rose Stafford Featherstone, Green Party candidate

Kevin Johnston, Labour Party

Sue Sterling, Liberal Democrat

Anthony Usher, Liberal Democrat

Jakub Wypych, The Conservative Party Candidate


Paul Wilfred Leslie Gibson, Liberal Democrat

Thomas Patrick Johnston, Labour and Co-operative Party

Auburn Langley, Green Party candidate

John Scott Wiper, The Conservative Party Candidate


Malcolm John Bond, Liberal Democrat

Barry Stanley Curran, Labour and Co-operative Party

Liam Dufferwiel, Green Party candidate

Michael Peter Hartnack, The Conservative Party Candidate


Simon John Ayre, The Conservative Party Candidate

Helmut Izaks, Green Party candidate

Martin Moore, UKIP

Dale Michael Mordey, Labour and Co-operative Party

Ciaran Joseph Morrissey, Liberal Democrat


James Blackburn, Labour and Co-operative Party

Ian David Ellis, Liberal Democrat

Richard Elvin, UKIP

Patricia Ann Francis, The Conservative Party Candidate

David William Geddis, Independent

Rachel Louise Lowe, Green Party candidate


Raymond Hall Davison, The Conservative Party Candidate

Billy Scott Howells, Green Party candidate

John Price, Labour Party

Donna Sarah Thomas, UKIP

Carlton Lee West, Liberal Democrat


Syed Ajmol Ali, The Conservative Party Candidate

Niall Dane Hodson, Liberal Democrat Focus Team

Iain William Kay, Labour and Co-operative Party

Gary Ogle, Green Party candidate

Julio Romero Johnson, Communist Party of Britain


Danielle Francoise Emmanuelle Chamberlin, Green Party candidate

Abul Bakkar Ehthesham Haque, Labour Party

Colin Richard Nicholson, Liberal Democrat

Judith Porter, The Conservative Party Candidate


Paul James Anthony Burke, The Conservative Party Candidate

Sandra Helen Hesslewood, UKIP

Alison Smith, Labour and Co-operative Party


Usman Ali, The Conservative Party Candidate

Ellen Ball, Labour and Co-operative Party

Marek Filipkowski, UKIP


Paul Edgeworth, Liberal Democrat

Pauline Elizabeth Huntley, UKIP

Tony Morrow, Populist Party

Christine Reed, The Conservative Party Candidate

Debra Waller, Labour Party

Shiney Row

Nana Boddy, Liberal Democrat

Katherine Mary Elizabeth Mason-Gage, Labour and Co-operative Party

Raymond John Moore, Green Party candidate

Kay Rowham, UKIP

Grant Shearer, The Conservative Party Candidate

David Snowdon, Labour and Co-operative Party

Richard Steven Vardy, The Conservative Party Candidate

Robert Welsh, Green Party candidate


Sharon Elizabeth Boddy, Liberal Democrat

Chris Crozier, Green Party candidate

Jack Paul Simm, The Conservative Party Candidate

Pat Smith, Labour Party

Ian Walton, UKIP


Kelly Chequer, Labour Party

Norman Martin Dent, Liberal Democrat

Stephen Thomas Harrison, UKIP

Liam Christopher Ritchie, The Conservative Party Candidate

Morgan Joseph Seed, Green Party candidate

St Anne’s

Bryan George Foster, UKIP

Greg Peacock, The Conservative Party Candidate

Peter Arnold Walton, Liberal Democrat

Susan Watson, Labour and Co-operative Party

St Chad’s

Chris Burnicle, The Conservative Party Candidate

Elizabeth Agnes Crosby, Liberal Democrat

Darryl Oliver Dixon, Labour Party

St Michael’s

John Leonard Appleton, Green Party candidate

Lyall Jonathan Reed, The Conservative Party Candidate

Chris Smith, Labour Party

Colin Andrew Wilson, Liberal Democrat

St Peter’s

Rachel Sara Featherstone, Green Party candidate

Sam Martin Johnston, The Conservative Party Candidate

John Anthony Lennox, Liberal Democrat

Ian Lines, UKIP

David Laurence Newey, Labour and Co-operative Party

Washington Central

Scott Andrew Burrows, Green Party candidate

Tony Ormond, UKIP

Dianne Elizabeth Snowdon, Labour and Co-operative Party

Sean Terry, Liberal Democrat

Michael Winter, The Conservative Party Candidate

Washington East

Michal Chantkowski, Green Party candidate

Stephen Cuthbert, UKIP

Hilary Johnson, The Conservative Party Candidate

Sean Robert Laws, Labour and Co-operative Party

Washington North

Derek Dunn, The Conservative Party Candidate

Graeme Edminson, Green Party candidate

Maureen Hibbert, UKIP

Jaye Jordan, Liberal Democrat

Michael Lee Walker, Labour Party

Washington South

Richard Peter Bradley, Green Party candidate

Paul Donaghy, The Conservative Party Candidate

Steven Boyd Donkin, Liberal Democrat

Michael Anthony Ellis, Green Party candidate

Louise Anthea Florence Farthing, Labour and Co-operative Party

Brandon Feeley, Labour and Co-operative Party

Josh Green, UKIP

Craig Morrison, The Conservative Party Candidate (address in Sunderland)

Washington West

Andrew Philip Bex, Liberal Democrats

Olwyn Bird, The Conservative Party Candidate

Paul Andrew Leonard, Green Party candidate

Bill Little, UKIP

Jimmy Warne, Labour Party

Support your Echo and become a subscriber today. Enjoy unlimited access to local news, the latest on SAFC and new puzzles every day. With a digital subscription, you can see fewer ads, enjoy faster load times, and get access to exclusive newsletters and content. Click here to subscribe.