How part of Sunderland will become Jarrow and city will lose an MP under new constituency proposals

The political geography of our area looks set to be rewritten under proposals to move the boundaries of our MPs’ areas.

Tuesday, 8th June 2021, 3:16 pm
Updated Tuesday, 8th June 2021, 6:26 pm

The Boundary Commission for England has published its initial proposals to redraw constituencies across the country, to ensure that they are more equally balanced in terms of voter numbers.

It would see major changes to the parliamentary map, with England set to gain 10 additional seats at the expense of Wales, which is due to lose eight, and Scotland, which will be down two.

Across South Tyneside and Sunderland changes proposed would see the city lose one MP, while other members would see their patches change.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

This map shows where the new border would be for the City of Durham constituency and Seaham and Peterlee.
This map shows where the new border would be for the City of Durham constituency and Seaham and Peterlee.

The commission has said the proposals, which open for an initial eight-week public consultation period, are provisional.

It is not due to make its final recommendations to Parliament until July 2023.

Commission secretary Tim Bowden said: “Today’s proposals mark the first time people get to see what the new map of parliamentary constituencies might look like.

"But they are just the commission’s initial thoughts.

The proposals drawn up by the Boundary Commission for England (BCE) show where it thinks the new borders could be drawn.

“We want to hear the views of the public to ensure that we get the new boundaries for Parliamentary constituencies right.”

We have contacted the MPs across Sunderland, South Tyneside and Easington for a response to the plans.

Here’s what you need to know about the potential changes.

What difference will it make to our MPs?

This map shows the proposed boundaries, in red, and existing boundaries, in blue, for the Houghton area.

The redrawing of the constituency lines will mean the Houghton and Sunderland South seat, which is currently represented by Labour’s Shadow Chief Secretary to the Treasury Bridget Phillipson, would disappear.

The Houghton area would move into the City of Durham seat, while the Sunderland part, including Moorside, Doxford Park, Mill Hill, Tunstall and Burdon would become part of a new Seaham and Peterlee constituency, which includes the current Easington constituency.

Further north, the other change for the region would mean alterations in England’s biggest local authority Northumberland, which is currently represented in Westminster by the Berwick-upon-Tweed, Blyth Valley, Hexham and Wansbeck constituencies. But under the plans, they would be reduced to three, with Blyth and Wansbeck merged and a host of changes for the other two.

Read More

Read More
Northumberland set to lose one of its MPs
This map by the Boundary Commission for England (BCE) shows the existing boundaries.

Another change for Washington’s border

The seat of Washington and Sunderland West would become Washington and Sunderland South West, adding areas including Penshaw, the Herringtons, Thorney Close and New Silksworth to the constituency.

A major change for Jarrow – it’ll include part of Sunderland

The Jarrow constituency, currently represented by Labour’s Kate Osborne, could lose the section of Gateshead which takes in Wardley, Pelaw and Heworth, with a section of Sunderland to move into that area, with a new name of Jarrow and Sunderland West.

The new Jarrow constituency would include Town End Farm, Castletown, Hylton Castle and Hylton Red House and North Hylton and then across the River Wear to include South Hylton and Pennywell, with the latter almost 10 miles away from the centre of Jarrow.

The changes could see the Jarrow constituency take in a section of Sunderland, including Pennywell, which is in the City of Sunderland.

South Shields to take in its neighbouring villages

The area, overseen by Labour’s Emma Lewell-Buck, would continue to see Whitburn in its boundary, but also add the Boldons and Cleadon to it, which are part of the Jarrow area as it stands.

A change for Easington’s area

It looks a minor change, compared to some of the other areas, but the new Seaham and Peterlee area would take in Wingate and Station Town, which are currently represented in the Sedgefield area rather than Easington, but it would lose Haswell Plough, although its neighbour Haswell would remain in the East Durham section.

Why is a review being carried out?

The commission says the 2023 Review of Parliamentary constituencies was launched in January because it needs to make sure that the number of electors in each constituency is more equal; in doing so, the number of constituencies in England will increase from 533 to 543.

By law, every constituency we propose must contain between 69,724 and 77,062 Parliamentary electors.

This is how you can have your say

People are encouraged to visit to view maps showing the proposed new boundaries and provide feedback before the consultation, which closes on Sunday, August 2.

You can subscribe to this website and enjoy unlimited access to local news, information and puzzles online.

With a digital subscription, you can read more than five articles, see fewer ads, enjoy faster load times, and get access to exclusive newsletters and content.

Simply click ‘Subscribe’ in the menu.

This Boundary Commission for England (BCE) map shows the existing boundaries and proposed changes to the Jarrow and Houghton and Sunderland South areas.
The Boundary Commission for England (BCE) site shows where the existing boundaries are and where the proposed new constituencies could be.