The Sunderland schools which will be used as polling stations on May 6

It’s been 12 months of uncertainty and closures for schools since the start of the coronavirus pandemic, and some of the region’s schools might be facing one more closure.

Thursday, 22nd April 2021, 6:33 pm
Elections are due to take place in May

In February, schools minister Nick Gibb sent head teachers a letter stating the Government supports avoiding the use of schools as polling sites “where it is practically possible to do so”.

The letter said: “This year all children have missed vital time at school and the Government is committed to minimising any further disruption to pupils’ education … we are clear that where schools would be required to close, returning officers should look to other available venues first.”

Where there are no alternative premises, schools and returning officers should “work together to minimise any disruption and keep the school open where that is possible”.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

However, it hasn’t been possible to avoid all schools being used for voting, and the pupils of those picked could be impacted by full or partial closures.

Parents should check with schools to find out the arrangements for polling day.

Elections for Sunderland City Council take place on May 6.

Your polling station is printed on the back of your poll card, but if in doubt visit the council website.

Here is a list of the schools that have been selected as polling stations in Sunderland, South Tyneside and Durham


Benedict Biscop C E Academy, Doxford

Venerable Bede CE Academy, Doxford

Mill Hill Primary School, Doxford Park

Hetton Lyons Primary Academy, Hetton

East Rainton Primary School, Hetton

Newbottle Primary Academy, Houghton

Hasting Hill Academy, Sandhill

Grindon Infant School, Sandhill

Barnes Junior School, Barnes

Thornhill Park School, Barnes

Richard Avenue Primary School, Barnes

Hudson Road Primary School, Hendon

Valley Road Academy, Hendon

Grangetown Primary School, Hendon

Diamond Hall Junior Academy, Millfield

Highfield Academy, Pallion

Grange Park Primary School, Southwick

Bexhill Primary Academy, Bexhill

Hylton Castle Primary School, Bexhill

Willow Fields Community Primary School, Redhill

Biddick Primary and Nursery School, Washington Central

John F Kennedy Primary School (Nursery), Washington Central

Barmston Village Primary School, Washington East

Lambton Primary School, Washington South

Blackfell Primary School, Washington West

George Washington Primary School, Washington West

South Tyneside

Marsden Primary School, Mill Lane, Whitburn

The Nursery Unit, Hadrian Primary School, South Shields

Holy Trinity C E Academy, Nursery Unit, South Shields

Biddick Hall Infant School, Smarties Entrance, South Shields


Seaham Trinity Primary School, Seaham

Ropery Walk Primary School, Seaham

Yohden Primary School, Horden

Our Lady Star of The Sea R C Primary School, Horden

Woodlea Primary School, (Nursery Unit), Woodstone

Ribbon Academy, Murton

Our Lady of Lourdes RCVA Primary School, Shotton Colliery

Roseberry Primary and Nursery School, Pelton

Dene House Primary School, Peterlee

Catchgate Primary School, Catchgate

Sugar Hill Infants School, Newton Aycliffe

Vane Road Primary School, Newton Aycliffe

St Josephs Primary School, A Catholic Academy, Newton Aycliffe

Stephenson Way Academy and Nursery School, Newton Aycliffe

Forest-of-Teesdale Primary School, Barnard Castle

Middleton-in-Teesdale Nursery and Primary, Barnard Castle

Durham Gilesgate Primary School, (communal room), Gilesgate

St Joseph’s RCVA Primary School, Gilesgate

Shotley Bridge Primary School, (Juniors) Shotley Bridge, Consett

Benfieldside Primary School, (Community Room), Moorlands, Blackhill

Langley Moor Nursery School, Langley Moor

Chester le Street CE Primary School, South Pelaw, Chester le Street

The Hermitage Academy (Sixth Form Centre), Chester le Street

Newker Primary School, Chester le Street

Villa Real School, Consett

Victoria Lane Academy Nursery, Coundon

Kelloe Primary School, Kelloe

Hartside Primary Academy, Crook

Our Lady Queen of Martyrs RCVA Primary, (community room), Esh Winning

Esh Winning Primary School, Esh Winning

St Michael’s RC Primary School, Esh Village

Shincliffe C.E. (Controlled) Primary School, High Shincliffe

Ramshaw Primary School, Evenwood, Bishop Auckland

Aclet Close Nursery School, Bishop Auckland

Finchale Primary School, Newton Hall

St Leonard’s Catholic School, North End

Fyndoune Community College, Findon Hill

Oxclose Nursery School, Spennymoor

Sunnybrow Primary School, Sunnybrow

Hunwick Primary School, Hunwick

Woodhouse Community Primary School, Woodhouse Close Estate