The Sunderland City Council 2021 local election results in full

The full results for the 2021 Sunderland City Council local elections are now in.

Friday, 7th May 2021, 5:03 am
Ballot boxes being brought in at the Sunderland count

The council now breaks down as follows:

Labour: 42 seats

Conservative: 18 Seats

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Lib Dems: 12 Seats

UKIP: 3 Seats

Read More

Read More
LIVE: Sunderland City Council local elections 2021 - final results now in, with...

Scroll down to see the full results for each ward which was up for election on May 6:

Barnes - Con GAIN

Rebecca Sarah ATKINSON (Labour Party) 1,367

Richard DUNN (Conservative Party) 1,610

Tim ELLIS (Liberal Democrat) 201

Alyson KORDBARLAG (Green Party) 158

Turnout: 40.3%

Castle - Lab HOLD

Tony CLARKE (UKIP) 201

Allen CURTIS (Liberal Democrat) 111

Gwennyth GIBSON (Conservative Party) 583

Denny WILSON (Labour Party) 1,243

Turnout: 26.3%

Copt Hill - Lab HOLD x2

George Edward BROWN (Conservative Party) 833


John DEFTY (UKIP) 384

Tracy DODDS (Labour Party) 1,203

Esme Rose Stafford FEATHERSTONE (Green Party) 256

Kevin JOHNSTON (Labour Party) 1,327

Sue STERLING (Liberal Democrat) 272

Anthony USHER (Liberal Democrat) 83

Jakub WYPYCH (Conservative Party) 519

Turnout: 31.8%

Doxford - Lib Dem GAIN

Paul Wilfred Leslie GIBSON (Liberal Democrat) 1,510

Thomas Patrick JOHNSTON (Labour and Co-operative Party) 797

Auburn LANGLEY (Green Party) 110

John Scott WIPER (Conservative Party) 684

Turnout: 39.5%

Fulwell - Con HOLD

Malcolm John BOND (Liberal Democrat) 1,571

Barry Stanley CURRAN (Labour and Co-operative Party) 730

Liam DUFFERWIEL (Green Party) 180

Michael Peter HARTNACK (Conservative Party) 1,826

Turnout: 49%


Simon John AYRE (Conservative Party) 377

Helmut IZAKS (Green Party) 110

Martin MOORE (UKIP) 75

Dale Michael MORDEY (Labour and Co-operative Party) 849

Ciaran Joseph MORRISSEY (Liberal Democrat) 1029

Rejected - 17

Turnout: 30.7%

Hetton - Labour HOLD

James BLACKBURN (Labour and Co-operative Party) 1,258

Ian David ELLIS (Liberal Democrat) 63

Richard ELVIN (UKIP) 313

Patricia Ann FRANCIS (Conservative Party) 545

David William GEDDIS (Independent) 554

Rachel Louise LOWE (Green Party) 81

Turnout: 30.9%

Houghton - Lab HOLD

Raymond Hall DAVISON (Conservative Party) 951

Billy Scott HOWELLS (Green Party) 195

John PRICE (Labour Party) 1,437

Donna Sarah THOMAS (UKIP) 307

Carlton Lee WEST (Liberal Democrat) 106

Turnout: 30.1%

Millfield - Lib Dem HOLD

Syed Ajmol ALI (Conservative Party) 192

Niall Dane HODSON (Liberal Democrat) 1,701

Iain William KAY (Labour and Co-operative Party) 609

Gary OGLE (Green Party) 50

Julio ROMERO JOHNSON (Communist Party of Britain) 32

Turnout: 35.2%

Pallion - Lib Dem GAIN

Danielle Francoise Emmanuelle CHAMBERLIN (Green Party) 93

Abul Bakkar Ehthesham HAQUE (Labour Party) 480

Colin Richard NICHOLSON (Liberal Democrat) 1,440

Judith PORTER (Conservative Party) 410

Turnout: 31.6%

Redhill - Lab HOLD

Paul James Anthony BURKE (Conservative Party) 623

Sandra Helen HESSLEWOOD (UKIP) 371

Alison SMITH (Labour and Co-operative Party) 1,019

Turnout: 25.4%

Ryhope - Con GAIN

Usman ALI (Conservative Party) 1,411

Ellen BALL (Labour and Co-operative Party) 1,230


Turnout: 33.7%

Sandhill - Lib Dem GAIN

Paul EDGEWORTH (Liberal Democrat) 1,274

Pauline Elizabeth HUNTLEY (UKIP) 66

Tony MORROW (Populist Party) 38

Christine REED (Conservative Party) 320

Debra WALLER (Labour Party) 812

Turnout: 32.4%

Shiney Row - Labour HOLD x2

Nana BODDY (Liberal Democrat) 170

Katherine Mary Elizabeth MASON-GAGE (Labour and Co-operative Party) 1,639

Raymond John MOORE (Green Party) 223


Grant SHEARER (Conservative Party) 1,069

David SNOWDON (Labour and Co-operative Party) 1,190

Richard Steven VARDY (Conservative Party) 1,026

Robert WELSH (Green Party) 176

Turnout: 33.5%

Silksworth - Labour HOLD

Sharon Elizabeth BODDY (Liberal Democrat) 136

Chris CROZIER (Green Party) 180

Jack Paul SIMM (Conservative Party) 1,073

Pat SMITH (Labour Party) 1,120


Turnout: 33.2%

Southwick - Labour HOLD

Kelly CHEQUER (Labour Party) 1,208

Norman Martin DENT (Liberal Democrat) 138

Stephen Thomas HARRISON (UKIP) 171

Liam Christopher RITCHIE (Conservative Party) 754

Morgan Joseph SEED (Green Party) 105

Turnout 30.4%

St Anne's - Con GAIN

Bryan George FOSTER (UKIP) 190

Greg PEACOCK (Conservative Party) 911

Peter Arnold WALTON (Liberal Democrat) 158

Susan WATSON (Labour and Co-operative Party) 908

Turnout: 27.6%

St Chad's - Con GAIN

Chris BURNICLE (Conservative Party Candidate) 1,647

Elizabeth Agnes CROSBY (Liberal Democrat) 208

Darryl Oliver DIXON (Labour Party) 895

Turnout: 37.3%

St Michael's - Con HOLD

John Leonard APPLETON (Green Party) 455

Lyall Jonathan REED (Conservative Party) 1,958

Chris SMITH (Labour Party) 902

Colin Andrew WILSON (Liberal Democrat) 117

Turnout: 41%

St Peter's - Con GAIN

Rachel Sara FEATHERSTONE (Green Party) 216

Sam Martin JOHNSTON (Conservative Party) 1,808

John Anthony LENNOX (Liberal Democrat) 183


David Laurence NEWEY (Labour and Co-operative Party) 1,056

Turnout: 42.1%

Washington Central - Lab HOLD

Scott Andrew BURROWS (Green Party) 211

Tony ORMOND (UKIP) 107

Dianne Elizabeth SNOWDON (Labour and Co-operative Party) 1,611

Sean TERRY (Liberal Democrat) 82

Michael WINTER (Conservative Party) 915

Turnout: 34.9%

Washington East - Lab HOLD

Michal CHANTKOWSKI (Green Party) 193

Stephen CUTHBERT (UKIP) 98

Hilary JOHNSON (Conservative Party) 1,403

Sean Robert LAWS (Labour and Co-operative Party) 1,558

Turnout: 36.1%

Washington North - Lab HOLD

Derek DUNN (Conservative Party) 730

Graeme EDMINSON (Green Party) 148

Maureen HIBBERT (UKIP) 89

Jaye JORDAN (Liberal Democrat) 119

Michael Lee WALKER (Labour Party) 1,216

Turnout: 29.1%

Washington South - Lab HOLD + Con GAIN

Richard Peter BRADLEY (Green Party) 418

Paul DONAGHY (Conservative Party) 1,186

Steven Boyd DONKIN (Liberal Democrat) 240

Michael Anthony ELLIS (Green Party) 521

Louise Anthea Florence FARTHING (Labour and Co-operative Party) 1,171

Brandon FEELEY (Labour and Co-operative Party) 931

Josh GREEN (UKIP) 88

Craig MORRISON (Conservative Party) 801

Turnout: 37.8%

Washington West - Lab HOLD

Andrew Philip BEX (Liberal Democrats) 129

Olwyn BIRD (Conservative Party) 916

Paul Andrew LEONARD (Green Party) 242


Jimmy WARNE (Labour Party) 1,462

Turnout: 32.5%

Support your Echo and become a subscriber today. Enjoy unlimited access to local news, the latest on SAFC and new puzzles every day. With a digital subscription, you can see fewer ads, enjoy faster load times, and get access to exclusive newsletters and content. Click here to subscribe.