Sunderland road improvements: What you need to know to avoid closures on city route

Transport chiefs have confirmed a timetable of overnight works to re-lay the surface of a busy Sunderland road.

By The Newsroom
Friday, 14 June, 2019, 17:19
Work which started to reconfigure the road network around Dame Dorothy Street in Sunderland, which started last year, will see a series of closures take place in coming weeks.

Sunderland City Council has put together the list of closures planned as part of a project to help people get in and out of the city centre – the first took place on Friday night.

Recent highways works have seen two-way traffic introduced to Dame Dorothy Street, to North Bridge Street and new junction layouts.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The current works programme, weather permitting, is:* Wednesday, June 19: Dame Dorothy Street closed in both directions;* Thursday, June 20: Dame Dorothy Street closed in both directions;* Friday, June 21: Dame Dorothy Street closed in both directions;* Wednesday, June 26: Dame Dorothy Street closed in both directions;* Thursday, June 27: Junction with Dame Dorothy Street/Church Street North closed;* Friday, June 28: Dame Dorothy Street closed in both directions;* Monday, July 1: Dame Dorothy Street closed in both directions;* Tuesday, July 2: Dame Dorothy Street closed in both directions;* Wednesday, July 3: Dame Dorothy Street closed in both directions.