Durham miners launch 'Defend Jeremy Corbyn' fight as MP says he is 'steady as a rock' for Labour leader

Durham miners have thrown themselves behind Jeremy Corbyn as Labour MPs attempt to destabilize the Labour leader.

Monday, 27th June 2016, 10:24 am
Updated Monday, 27th June 2016, 11:28 am
Jeremy Corbyn. Picture by PA.

It comes after several members of Mr Corbyn's shadow cabinet resigned on Sunday, with MPs attempting to gather support for a vote of no confidence in the opposition leader.

A Labour source has also revealed the party's deputy leader Tom Watson has told Mr Corbyn "it looks like we are moving towards a leadership election" and Mr Corbyn he would have to decide whether he wanted to endure a "bruising" internal battle before the prospect of a "very tough general election".

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

The Durham Miners' Association (DMA) is among those who are strongly backing Mr Corbyn, however.

It convening an emergency public meeting to "Defend Jeremy Corbyn" at the Miners' Hall Redhills "in the coming days".

In a statement, the DMA said: "Thirty years ago, Jeremy Corbyn gave total support and solidarity to the mining communities in this region and this country - now we are backing him against the disgraceful attempts to oust him as the democratically elected leader of The Labour Party

"We are determined that Jeremy Corbyn will address the Durham Miners' Gala in a few weeks time as leader of the Labour Party."

Easington MP Grahame Morris has also spoken of his strong support for Mr Corbyn.

Speaking on twitter, he said he was "steady as a rock" for the "thoroughly decent and principled" Labour leader.

Meanwhile, Mr Corbyn this morning has unveiled his new shadow cabinet team. They include:

Shadow foreign secretary - Emily Thornberry

Shadow health secretary - Diane Abbott

Shadow education secretary - Pat Glass

Shadow transport secretary - Andy McDonald

Shadow defence secretary - Clive Lewis

Shadow chief secretary to the Treasury - Rebecca Long-Bailey

Shadow international development secretary - Kate Osamor

Shadow environment food and rural affairs secretary - Rachel Maskell

Shadow voter engagement and youth affairs - Cat Smith

Shadow Northern Ireland secretary - Dave Anderson