The Ordinary Boys are back with a new album and tour

The Ordinary Boys
The Ordinary Boys
Have your say

After a lengthy hiatus, indie-rock band The Ordinary Boys are back with a new album and full UK tour.

They release comeback single Four Letter Word on September 11, ahead of a self-titled album on October 2.

They then hit the road for 25 dates around the country, including one at Think Tank in Newcastle on Wednesday, November 11.

Four Letter Word is a soaring, energy-driven statement of intent reminiscent of their 2004 Top 20 debut Over The Counter Culture.

A return to their former sound is no surprise, since the reformed line-up consists of the original trio – Sam Preston (vocals), James Gregory (bass) and Charlie ‘Chuck’ Stanley (drums) - plus new member Louis Jones from power-pop band Spectrals on guitar.

Preston met Louis stage-diving at a Cribs gig and, he says, “knew immediately that I wanted him to be my new best friend/collaborator.”

After a brief stint in the limelight following his appearance on Celebrity Big Brother in 2006, and a short-lived bid to be a solo artist, Preston turned his attention to becoming a successful songwriter.

However, as fulfilling as his “day job” is, Preston says: “Hanging out with Louis, all we wanted to talk about were the punk and hardcore bands that had made us pick up guitars and form bands in the first place.

“I made Spinal Tap-esque phone calls to James and Chuck.

“After promising several times that it wouldn’t sound anything like the questionable third album, we met for some beers and started rehearsing. We were 15 again.”

That ‘questionable’ third album, How To Get Everything You Ever Wanted In Ten Easy Steps, scored the band three Top 10 hits in 2006.

Its predecessor, 2005’s Brassbound, was also a Top 20 hit, as was its lead single, Boys Will Be Boys, which was re-issued in 2006 and went to No.1 in the UK download charts.

It was also the beginning of the end for the band, and Preston announced in early 2008 through their website that they were splitting.

He began work on a solo album, but it was shelved, and he instead started a career as a songwriter, writing hits for John Newman and Example and the No. 1 Heart Skips A Beat for Olly Murs.

The Ordinary Boys reunited in 2011 for a UK tour of small venues, with Preston saying his objective was to “give this band the decent burial that they didn’t get in 2008”.

Although they gave the project their blessing, there was no involvement from either William Brown or James Gregory, who were unavailable through other commitments.

Instead, the band recruited three new members to join Preston and Simon Goldring, who was the drummer at the time of the split.

A one-off gig on Friday, 13 December 2013 followed at the Hoxton Bar and Grill in Shoreditch, London, but it proved far from unlucky - it featured the return of bassist Gregory.

Two weeks later, Preston announced that The Ordinary Boys were to officially reform, and they played an 11-date UK tour in November 2014.

Now they are back with new music, and renewed enthusiasm. Over the last year they have been busy writing and recording the new album. enlisting Rory Atwell (The Vaccines, Veronica Falls) and MJ (of Hookworms) on production duties and Dan Lancaster (Bring Me The Horizon, Lower Than Atlantis) for mixing.

“We think we have made a really special, exciting record,” Preston says, “one that has been fuelled by reunited childhood friendships, new friendships, rediscovery of the records that shaped us, and the drive to create something undeniably great.

“I’ve had the best year of my life making this album, and we are so excited to finally be able to share it!”

Tickets for The Ordinary Boys’ Think Tank date are £11 from the usual outlets.