Something’s got to give!

Have your say

ACKLAM provide the opposition on Saturday as Sunderland play their third away game in a row – with both sides hoping for better results than in their opening two fixtures.

With both sides having a dissapointing start to the season something will have to give.

Acklam followed up an opening day defeat to Guisborough with a hammering against Gateshead last week, so will no doubt be looking to bounce back strongly against Sunderland.

Sunderland are forced into a number of changes from last week’s side with Pete Harrison and John Drummond both unavailable.

Club captain Harrison is replaced in the front row by Chris Geehan while youngster Johnny Parker makes his first start in the back row.

In the backs, a number of players unavailable last week return to the starting line-up.

Micheal Brace returns from a hamstring injury to start at scrum half meaning Brad Fish moves out to the wing, while Ian Dobson is unavailable so Guy Kingsley Smith moves from full back to fly-half.

Tom Townend, a late withdrawl last week comes into the centres alongside Michael Heffernan.

Jamie Maclennan and Dom Arkley are also both available again and both line up in the back three.

Adam Reay, Chris Wardle and Alan Ross make up the bench.

Rob Stormont is able to name a stronger side than last week when the seconds were affected by a number of first team call ups. Looking to bounce back from defeat to Ryton last week the seconds face a tough away fixture at Morpeth.

Sunderland thirds are also looking for their first win of the season when they entertain Percy Park.

Sunderland away to Acklam - 12.45pm meet: Buckley, Geehan, Sparrow, Carter, Wordsworth, Black, Parker, Belfield, Brace, Kingsley Smith, B. Fish, Heffernan, Townend, Maclennan, Arkley, Reps: Ross, Reay, Wardle.

Sunderland II away to Morpeth - 1pm meet: Summers, Edmundson, Hall, Fish, Wedderburn, Evans, Matthews, Elstob, Lamb, Blackburn, Watson, Padget, Jordan, Jermy, Hands. Reps: Cogdon, Turner.

Sunderland III home to Percy Park - 2pm meet: Marshall, Wright, Bull, Belfield, Jackson, Edmundson, Hurst, Green, Harrison, Richardson, Clinton, Graham, Wallace, Cowans, Ditchburn, Airey, Turnbull, Zine, Arrowsmith.