Whitburn up as champs

Have your say

WHITBURN have been confirmed as Division Two champions in the Sunderland and Districtr Earl Cup.

The heavy rain washed out all this week’s Earl Cup ties, leaving Whitburn guaranteed to finish in top spot.

The Swan Cup’s final unbeaten record has finally gone as Division One leaders Usworth were beaten 6-1 at Roker Park. Usworth need six and a half points from their final fixture against North Biddick to ensure the championship – and they only require that many if Silksworth pick up 14 points from their last two games.

In Division Two, only three and a half points covered the top four teams going into this week’s final fixtures. Silksworth A are in the box seat, with last week’s 4-0 win at Chester-le-Street moving the leaders four and a half points clear of the field, while Houghton Town A and Seaham Town A are both relegated to Division Two.

Ryhope B are favourites to make the jump up to Division One as they have a slim three-point lead at the top.

In Division Three, Whitburn have gone up as champions, while Barnes Park A sneaked in as runners-up despite losing 3-1 to Sunderland in their final game. That single point left Pennywell B third by half a point.

Storey Bowl leaders Seaham Town had their bye last weekend so their lead at the top has been reduced to seven and a half points over Hetton Workmen’s.

Results – Earl Cup, Div One: Usworth 5 Hetton Workmen 2

Swan Cup, Div One: Barnes Park 6½ Hetton Workmen ½, Houghton DL 7 Grindon Mill 0, Houghton Town 7 Barnes WE 0, North Biddick 1 Thompson Park 6, Roker Park 6 Usworth 1, Seaham Town 5½ Roker Marine 1½

Div Two: New Herrington 1½ Pennywell 5½, Washington 5 Pemberton 2

Harold Howey Trophy, Div One: Barnes Park B 3½ Barley Mow ½, Chester-le-St 0 Silksworth 4, Lumley 0 Barnes WE 4, North Biddick A 0 Roker Park A 4, Ryhope 3 Hetton Workmen 1, Seaham Town A 1 Houghton Town A 3

Div Two: Dawdon 4 Sunderland 0, Houghton Town B 0 Roker Marine A 4, Roker Park B 4 Seaham Town B 0, Washington A 4 Thompson Park B 0

Storey Bowl: Dawdon 6 Wearmouth 1, Hetton Workmen 5½ Hylton CW 1½, Houghton Town 5 Pennywell 2, Roker Park 5½ Thompson Park 1½

H As the outdoor season enters the final month, news from the indoor scene is that both Consett and King George’s have resigned from the Durham County Indoor Bowling Association due to a lack of members.