Wearside succumb to Clark Cup preliminary round defeat

Have your say

Wearside’s hopes of adding to their record haul of 10 Clark Cup successes have been dashed by a preliminary round defeat.

The Cox Green club, champions in 1954, 1963, 1982, 1983, 1985, 1987, 1993, 1996, 1997 and 2005, succumbed 4-1 away to Ramside Hall, who now visit Hartlepool in the first round.

Boldon secured a 4-1 victory at Blackwell Grange and next head to Hobson in a tie to be played by the end of the month.

While Wearside have had 10 triumphs in the prestigious competition, Bishop Auckland and South Shields have each won nine times since its inception in 1953.

Preliminary round results: Tyneside bt Consett 4½-½, Boldon bt Blackwell Grange 4-1, Ramside Hall bt Wearside 4-1, Billingham bt Roseberry Grange 3-2, Seaton Carew bt Eaglescliffe 4-1

First round draw (ties by May 30): Hobson v Boldon, Beamish Park v Garesfield, Birtley v Bishop Auckland, Seaham v Rockliffe Hall, Hartlepool v Ramside Hall, Whitburn v George Washington, Ineos v Houghton, Dinsdale Spa v Seaton Carew, Ryton v Durham City, Heworth v Wynyard, Billingham v Whickham, Castle Eden v Brancepeth Castle, Crook v Tyneside, Chester-le-Street v South Shields, Darlington v Barnard Castle, Ravensworth v South Moor