Washington clinch title

Have your say

WASHINGTON Snooker C are the Division Two champions in the Danby Auto Sunderland Snooker League.

Despite a 4-1 defeat at Lumley A, they now cannot be caught, going into the last week of the season.

Bryan Jeffreys gave Washington a great start in the first frame before Martin Ball, Stephen Rushworth and Joe Nord won the next three singles.

Stoves and Ball won 86-38 in the pairs to complete the the win for Lumley.

Seaham Cons had mixed results in their two matches, including a rearranged game against Biddick B.

Michael Simpson beat Robert Cougle in the first before Peter Mills claimed the second. The third frame went to Biddick due to the late arrival of a Seaham player.

Gordon Elliott took the fourth for the Cons and Will Cowell and Ian Hughes took the pairs, leaving Biddick as 3-2 winners.

In this week’s fixture, Seaham met Cheema and lost the first frame to Gurj Cheema, but responded to take the remaining frames for a 4-1 success.

The Victory were at home against Lumley B and got off to a good start as Andy Newby beat Ritchie Tiffin, but breaks of 27 and 21 saw Brian Meuse level.

Andrew Drinkwater took Lumley into the lead and that was increased as Thomas Gwynn had a comfortable win in the last singles.

Gwynn had a double as he was joined by Don Roberts in winning the pairs in a 4-1 result to Lumley.

St Gabriel’s had a tough match against Biddick B.

Michael Simpson had a 40 break in the first, followed by a 33 in the second by Tom Walton, to take Biddick into a 2-0 lead.

Tony Grimes responded by winning the third for St Gabriel’s, but that was cancelled out as Alex Lewins won the fourth.

Ken Rackstraw and Steve Hagel won the pairs, leaving Biddick as 3-2 winners.

In the local derby Murton Vic won 3-2 against Murton Officials.

A cancelled match between Seaham Knack and Washington Snooker A seems to have delayed the outcome of the First Division Championship title, as Green Baize joined Washington on 92 points, with Washington still having a game in hand.

Mill View A played Green Baize and were unfortunate in suffering a 4-1 defeat.

Peter Dambrosie took the second for Green Baize after Dean Wilson had taken the first.

A series of fouls by John Burnell did not help as he battled against Jeff Burn to increase the lead.

The fourth frame was claimed by Peter Davies against Craig Kane, to pull one back for Mill View.

Jeff Burn, aided by Craig Kane, won the pairs.

Glendale beat Pennywell Comrades A 4-1.

John Danby beat Dean Taylor, Craig Bell beat Mark Anderson, Frank McParlin won the third against Joe Turner and John Wiseman took Glendale into a 4-0 lead.

Taylor and O’Wellen had an easy success for Pennywell in winning the pairs.

Whitburn will regret inconsistent performances after a 5-0 win over Jordons B, put them in third position.

A 60 break by Derek White, in the second frame, increased the lead after Jason Rodgers had won the first.

Whitburn moved further ahead thanks to Phil Freeman and John Smith. A tight pairs match went to the black with Whitburn winning 57-52.

Jordons A took the first two frames with Jason Cunnigham and Chris Grimmer being successful against Biddick A.

Dave Adamson responded in the third, before Graham Ablett won the fourth against Rod Turnbull. Adamson and Turnbull helped Biddick to claim the pairs.

The Avenue were too good for Mill View B, who only won one point in the game as they lost 4-1.

Steels started brightly as Adam Smith and Tom Ayre ran out winners. Graham Rutland took the third for Washington Snooker B and Ray Charlton took the fourth.

Rutland and Bell had some reward as they beat Smith and Charlton 76-46 in the pairs.

H Representatives are requested to return to the next monthly meeting any trophies won by their players.

Results – Division One: Mill View A 1 Green Baize 4, Biddick A 1 Jordans A 4, Jordons B 0 Whitburn 5, Avenue 4 Mill View B 1, Steels A 3 Washington Snooker B 2, Pennywell Comrades A 1 Glendale 4. Division Two: Lumley A 4 Washington Snooker C 1, Seaham Cons 4 Cheema A 1, St Gabriel’s 2 Biddick B 3, Murton Vic 3 Murton Officials 2, Victory 1 Lumley B 4.


Division One

P W L Pts

Green Baize 25 21 4 92

W’ton Snkr A 24 20 4 92

Whitburn 25 16 9 86

W’ton Snkr B 25 19 6 83

Glendale 25 17 8 70

Avenue 25 15 10 62

Steels A 25 12 13 60

Biddick A 25 7 18 48

Jordons B 25 11 14 46

Mill View A 25 8 17 45

Pennywell Coms A 25 9 16 42

Seaham Knack 24 5 19 42

Jordons A 25 8 17 40

Mill View B 25 6 19 38

Divison Two

W’ton Snkr C 21 18 3 74

Lumley A 22 16 6 67

Seaham Cons 21 14 7 67

Lumley B 21 15 6 64

Biddick B 21 17 4 61

Murton Vic 21 12 9 53

Murton Officials 21 7 14 47

Railway 21 6 15 46

Pennywell Coms C 21 7 14 45

Victory 21 4 17 36

St Gabriel’s 22 5 17 33

Cheema 21 6 15 31