Town keep up Earl pursuit

Have your say

HOUGHTON Town maintained their perfect record to keep alive the pursuit of leaders Silksworth in Earl Cup Division One.

Silksworth beat Barnes Park by 32 shots to keep their 100 per cent record intact, and increase their advantage at the top to four points, while third-placed Houghton Town fought hard to win 69-52 at Ryhope.

Whitburn have an 11-point lead over Washington, convincing winners at Dawdon, in Division Two.

In the Swan Cup, the top four in Division One all won, with leaders Roker Marine increasing their advantage over Silksworth to six and a half points, although the leaders face their bye week this Wednesday.

Silksworth A outgunned Hetton Workmen 4-0 to maintain top spot in Division One in the Harold Howey Trophy, while Division Two leaders Ryhope B squeezed home 32-31 in a thriller at home to Seaham Town B. Only three and a half points cover the top eight teams in a very competitive Third Division.

Seaham Town’s 6-1 win over Pennywell maintained their one and a half point lead over holders Houghton Town in the Storey Bowl.

H Houghton Dairy Lane lead the Grindon League by four and a half points from Barnes West End. Silksworth, with a game in hand, are five points further back in third place.

Results, Earl Cup Div One: North Biddick 5 South Hylton 2, Roker Park 6 Hetton Workmen 1, Ryhope 2 Houghton Town 5, Silksworth 7 Barnes Park 0, Thompson Park 1 Seaham Town 6, Usworth 2 Roker Marine 5

Div Two: Dawdon 1½ Washington 5½, New Herrington 0 Pemberton 7, Sunderland 7 Herrington Workmen 0

Swan Cup, Div One: Barnes WE ½ Usworth 6½, Houghton DL 6 North Biddick 1, Houghton Town 6 Ryhope 1, Roker Marine 7 Grindon Mill 0, Seaham Town 7 Barnes Park 0, Silksworth 6 Thompson Park 1, South Hylton 6 Hetton Workmen 1

Div Two: New Herrington 1 Barley Mow 6, Pennywell 6 Hylton CW 1

Harold Howey Trophy, Div One: Chester-le-St A 0 Barnes WE 4, North Biddick A 4 Lumley 0, Roker Park A 3 Houghton DL A 1, Silksworth A 4 Hetton Workmen 0, South Hylton 3 Barley Mow 1

Div Two: Ryhope B 3 Seaham Town B 1, Thompson Park B 4 Roker Marine A 0

Div Three: Barnes Park A 3½ Chester-le-St B ½, New Herrington 0 Washington 4, Sunderland B 3 Pennywell B 1

Storey Bowl: Dawdon 5 Thompson Park 2, Seaham Town 6 Pennywell 1