Stephenson puts on a powerful display

Share this article
Have your say

CRAIG Stephenson was the star of the show for Sunderland Clarion in Cycle Development North East’s Single Sunday Special at Middlesbrough’s Prissick circuit.

Stephenson, in only his second race, finished third in the fourth category only event, delivering a strong display, attacking a number of times before his final move which pulled himself, eventual winner Damien Kelly (Epic MTB) and Samuel Young (Loughborough) away from the pack.

Stephenson has now won promotion to the third category.

Clarion’s Matt France sprinted to fifth place, while Paul Alderson finished seventh place.

Ben Hetherington (Ferryhill Wheelers) jumped off the front to win the 3/4 category race despite the valiant efforts of Clarion’s Chris Barnard on the front of the bunch to pull him back. Paul Cottrell was the top Clarion rider in sixth.

Earlier, Michael Sloanes was 11th in the Elite/1/2 category race, out of contention after a crash split the field early on. Alan Nixon (Blackhawk Bikes) won from Colin Humphrey (Sportscover Altura RT) and Jack Rees (

Sloanes made amends in the eliminator race, which sees the final rider to cross the line after each lap eliminated, as he narrowly missed out on the podium with a fourth-place finish. Jack Rees won from Craig Smith (Colomba CC) and Zak Loney (Ythan CC). Cottrell finished sixth, with France seventh (winning promotion to third category) and Barnard ninth.

Houghton Cycling Club Evening 9 mile time trial results: Mark Harrison, Houghton Cycling Club 21.2; Peter Hale, Ferryhil Wheelers 21.14; Martin Gibson, Adept Precision 21.41; Matthew Webb, Houghton Cycling Club 22.41; Andy Brennan, Houghton Cycling Club 22.44; Tony Gibson, Sunderland Clarion 22.49; Michael Sloanes, Sunderland Clarion 22.53; Peter Iffland, Northumbria Police CC 23.3; Andy Ayre, Sunderland Clarion 23.17; Craster Bryce, Sunderland Clarion 23.35; Peter Tuckwell, Houghton Cycling Club 23.46; Nick Jobson, Cestria CC 23.54; Alan Pamler, Houghton Cycling Club 24.9; Jack Snowdon, Houghton Cycling Club 25.3; Dave Marshall, Cestria CC 25.36; Steve Kerr, Sunderland Clarion 25.46; Joe Applegarth, Houghton Cycling Club 25.47; Barry Richards, Houghton Cycling Club 26.43; Peter Baggarley, Sunderland Clarion 26.56; Alan Smith, Sunderland Clarion 27.3; Herbie Taylor, Houghton Cycling Club 27.27, Chuck Taylor, Houghton Cycling Club 28.46, Paul Gowland, Houghton Cycling Club 29.45, Brian Henderson, Houghton Cycling Club 31.9.