Spiller wins match in thrilling style

Share this article
Have your say

SPILLER Henderson produced his best darts performance of the season to record a fine 5-2 win against Ryhope’s number one player John “boy” Redpath.

Spiller hit 17 ton-plus scores and best legs of 16, 19 and two 21-darters with Redpath replying in 17 and 21 darts including a 103 checkout.

Jimmy Ashett had to be on form to fight off a valiant display by Alan Smith, who started the strongest by taking a 2-1 lead which only seemed to awake Ashett.

Ashett then rattled off the next four legs in 19, 20 and two 17-darters with the help of a maximum to stay second.

Eddie Ashman came from 4-2 down to take a deserved point against reigning champion Graham Mullen.

Mullen’s best legs were in 18, 19 and 21 darts, before Ashman stormed back with a 180 and a 116 finish in legs of 15, 16 and 17 darts.

Ray Malarkey pushed Kevin Guy all the way to an eighth leg before Guy showed his class to win the decider to win 5-3 and stay one point clear of Ashett.

Steve Skinner hit a 180 and a 105 checkout against newcomer John Squire to take the spoils in a 5-1 win.

Phil Dunn came up against Martin Price in a thriller with both players having to settle for a point.

Mark Robinson and Anth Skelton shared the points for the second time this season with 25 ton-plus scores being hit between them in a entertaining draw.

Davey Thompson had to fight off a spirited performance by Anthony Gale, with Gale taking a 3-2 lead, before Thompson showed what he is capable of to take the three points.

Neil Rose looked to be back on form, despite dropping the first leg against Barry Rutherford as he rattled off the next four legs in 17 and three 20 darters.

Rutherford came back to force a decider, but it was Rose who won the last leg to grab three much needed points.

Results: Neil Rose 5 Barry Rutherford 3, Eddie Ashman 4 Graham Mullen 4, Jimmy Ashett 5 Alan Smith 2, Kevin Guy 5 Ray Malarkey 3, Martin Price 4 Phil Dunn 4, Spiller Henderson 5 John Redpath 2, Steve Skinner 5 John”Squizy” Squire 1, Davey Thompson 5 Anthony Gale 3, Mark Robinson 4 Anth Skelton 4.