Silksworth stun holders to step up Harold Howey title push

Have your say

SILKSWORTH A, looking to improve on runners-up spot in the Harold Howey League’s First Division, showed their intentions with a cracking 4-0 home win over holders Barnes Park B this week.

That cemented their position at the top of the table, albeit on shots difference from Houghton Dairy Lane A, who, following consecutive promotions, stretched an unbeaten run from last season to 18 games. They have only lost once in 32 games, a tremendous run.

The early Division Two leaders are Roker Park B, ahead of relegated Houghton Town B on shots, while Pennywell B and Whitburn are joint top in Division Three.

In the Storey Bowl, Roker Park (20 points) lead Seaham Town by one and a half points, with holders Houghton Town in third.

The top four in the Swan Cup First Division are still unbeaten, with Roker Marine the early pace-setters. Washington had a cracking 5½-1½ win at New Herrington to head Division Two.

Roker Marine lead the Earl Cup First Division, with holders Silksworth down in fifth. Unbeaten Whitburn (25) are the early Division Two leaders.

Latest results – Earl Cup, Div One: Hetton Wkm 1 Houghton Town 6, North Biddick ½ Barnes Park 6 ½, Roker Park 6 Barley Mow 1, South Hylton 5½ Seaham Town 1½, Thompson Park 0 Roker Marine 7; Div Two: Grindon Mill 6 Sunderland 1, New Herrington 1 Washington 6

Swan Cup, Div One: Grindon Mill 6 Hetton Wkm 1, Houghton Town 1 Houghton DL 6, Roker Marine 7 Ryhope 0, Silksworth 7 North Biddick 0, South Hylton 7 Roker Park 0, Usworth 6 Thompson Park 1; Div Two: Herrington Wkm 6½ Pemberton ½, New Herrington 1½ Washington 5½, Pennywell 6 Barley Mow 1

Howey League, Div One: Chester-le-St 2 Houghton DL B 2, Houghton DL A 4 Barley Mow 0, Houghton Town 0 Barnes West End 4, North Biddick A 4 Seaham Town A 0, Silksworth A 4 Barnes Park B 0, South Hylton 4 Ryhope A 0; Div Two: Ryhope B 3 Hylton CW 1, Usworth v Sunderland A off; Div Three: Barnes Park A 4 Pennywell B 0, Mowbray 1 Grindon Mill 3, Pennywell A 0 Washington B 4, Sunderland B 3 New Herrington 1, Whitburn 4 Roker Marine B 0