Ryhope net title after seeing off Washington

Have your say

Harold Howey Division Two side Ryhope B sealed the title with a 3-1 win over second-placed Washington A, while Roker Marine A drop to the third tier.

The other relegation place is dependant on an outstanding result from the Pemberton A and Usworth game.

Whitburn are the Division Three champions and will be joined by Barnes Park A, who pipped Pennywell B by only half a point.

In the Storey Bowl, Seaham Town’s 7-0 win over Hylton CW sealed their first Storey title in 17 years, with a game to play.

In the Earl Cup, Division One side Houghton Dairy Lane cemented second place with rearranged wins over Hetton Workmen and South Hylton.

Dairy Lane finished on 88 points, which over the last seven years would have been enough to seal the title, however, they finished five points behind the champions Silksworth.

Roker Marine defeated Seaham Town 7-0 to finish third, some 20 points behind the winners.

Barley Mow are relegated, but the remaining relegation place depends on the outstanding result involving Hylton CW.

In the Second Division, Whitburn go up as champions alongside Sunderland, who pipped Herrington Workmen by 1½ points.

Usworth retained their Swan Cup title by two points from Silksworth, while Thompson Park’s 6-1 win over Roker Park condemned Ryhope and Grindon Mill to Division Two.

Silksworth clinched their first Harold Howey Division One title since 1992 from Houghton Dairy Lane B, albeit by 2½ points.

Houghton Town A and Seaham Town A are confirmed as relegated.

The majority of the Sunderland & District leagues are now completed, with only the odd result card outstanding.

Latest League Results: Earl Cup Division 1: Barley Mow 5 Barnes West End 2, Hetton Workmen 1 Houghton DL 6, Houghton DL 5½ South Hylton 1½, Roker Marine 7 Seaham Town 0 , Ryhope 5 Thompson Park 2. Swan Cup Division 1: Thompson Park 6 Roker Park 1. Swan Cup Division 2: Barley Mow 5 Washington 2. Harold Howey Division 2: Thompson Park B 3 Ryhope B 1, Thompson Park B 3½ Pemberton A ½, Ryhope B 3 Washington A 1, Usworth 0 Houghton Town 4. Harold Howey Division 3: Mowbray 4 Barley Mow 0. Storey Bowl: Hetton Workmen 6 Thompson Park 1, Houghton Town 6 Roker Park 1, Seaham Town 7 Hylton CW 0.