Robertson breaks away to take victory

Have your say

ADAM Robertson took the honours at the second round of the Sunderland Clarion Crit Series.

Robertson narrowly beat last week’s winner James King after a five-man breakaway escaped late into the 2/3/4 race.

A large field of 42 riders from across the North East took to the start line at a sunny Hetton Lyons. The race set off at a strong pace, with a number of riders triying to escape from the bunch.

It looked like no group would stay clear, as break after break was reeled in by the bunch. The first prime was won by James Anderson (Blackhawk Bikes) after escaping briefly from the clutches of the bunch.

The second prime was won by Andrew Wooler (Aire Valley Racing Team) and soon after, four riders broke away, soon joined by a fifth.

Despite some evident tension in the group as the laps counted down and they took the bell, the escapees managed to stay away from the bunch, with Robertson taking the victory. The podium was rounded off by King and Alex Hopper (Velo 29 Cycling Team).

The bunch quickly followed with a sprint for the remaining places.

In the earlier 4th cat/go-race event, David Charman (Blackhawk Bikes) clinched the victory from Carl Donaldson (Breeze Bikes) with Tony Dickinson (Sunderland Clarion) close behind in third.

The race was a faster-paced affair than the previous week, and the damp track made the racing more eventful with a crash breaking up the pack midway through the 30 minutes. The prime sprint was taken by Donaldson, who put in a strong performance.

As numbers dwindled, the pace meant that the race was heading for another sprint finish despite the best efforts of a number of riders to try and string things out.

The third and final round takes places on Saturday, May 26 at Hetton Lyons. First race is at 12.30.

Results: 2/3/4 Race sponsored by TTR Barnes Chartered Accountants: 1 Adam Robertson (, 2 James King (Mountivation Development Academy), 3 Alex Hopper (Velo 29 Cycling Team), 4 Rick King (VC Briganti – Cycleways RT), 5 William Brown (Blackhawk Bikes), 6 Jack Sadler (Mountivation Development Academy), 7 Taylor Cardus (Velo 29 Cycling Team), 8 Rob Wheeler (Blackhawk Bikes), 9 Tom Timothy (Velo29-OTR-Vankru), 10 Carl Donaldson (Breeze Bikes).

4th Cat/Go Race: 1 David Charman (Blackhawk Bikes), 2 Carl Donaldson (Breeze Bikes), 3 Anthony Dickinson (Sunderland Clarion), 4 Matty Cooper (Achieve CC), 5 Steve Orchard (Columba), 6 Keith Sibbald, 7 Rory McCrystal (Gosforth RC), 8 Harry Craig (Border City Wheelers CC), 9 Charles Monchâtre (Sunderland Clarion), 10 Eric Henderson (Houghton Le Spring CC).

Houghton Cycling Club Evening 9-mile time trial results (Tuesday, May 8): Tony Fawcett (Blackhawk Bikes) 21mins 41secs, Martin Gibson (Adept Precisio) 22m 15s, Andy Ayre (Sunderland Clarion) 23m 42s, Andy Brennan (Houghton Cycling Club) 24m 22s, Eric Henderson (Houghton Cycling Club) 25m 1s, Peter Tuckwell (Houghton Cycling Club) 25m 10s, Alan Smith (Sunderland Clarion) 26m 13s, Malcolm Marshall (Cestria CC) 26m 16s, Steve Kerr (Sunderland Clarion) 26m 28s, Alan Pamler (Houghton Cycling Club) 26m 28s, Steve Trout (Houghton Cycling Club) 26m 44s, Dave Marshall (Cestria CC) 26m 54s, Joe Applegarth (Houghton Cycling Club) 27m 10s, Barry Richards (Houghton Cycling Club) 28m 22s, Chuck Taylor (Houghton Cycling Club) 28m 32s, Peter Baggarley (Sunderland Clarion) 28m 38s.