Riders made to work in treacherous conditions

Have your say

HOUGHTON CC riders were out in force when they took on the howling wind conditions in Round Two of Velo 29 Winter Series, Circuit Racing at Croft Racing Circuit.

Houghton were represented by Ian Jobling, Colin Humphrey, Fred Napier, Chris Ranson and Andy Brennan.

The first event of the day was a 4th Category race with a field of over 80 riders, and Houghton had Jobling, Napier and Humphrey taking part.

This was the second outing for Humphrey, and first outing for Napier.

The field stayed together most of the race as none of the riders were keen to attempt a break in difficult conditions.

The sprint finish came with Ian Cowen finishing as winner, with Andy Stoneman coming in second and Ben Ward third.

Humphrey stayed the course and finished 42nd, Jobling finished 47th and Napier 68th.

The first 10 placings are awarded points and they were: 1 Ian Cowen (Cleveland Wheelers CC), 2 Andy Stoneman (Valley Striders CC), 3 Ben Ward (EMC), 4 Terry Ashmore (Team Cystic Fibrosis), 5 Ewan Shepherd (Hambleton RC), 6 Oliver Reeves (Durham University CC), 7 Paul Brown (NRG/Godleys RT), 8 Jonathan Davey (Edinburgh RC), 9 Martin Brearey (Cleveland Wheelers CC), 10 Dave Thomes (unaffiliated).

The second event was an Elite/1/2/3/4 category event over 30 miles, and had a field of over 80 riders.

Houghton’s Andy Brennan, who was riding his first race of the season, held on until the eigth lap, but had to retire.

Chris Ranson was riding strongly and finished the race in the third group.

The eventual winner was Charlie Tanfield, a second category rider.

Second was Nathan Wilson (first category rider), who out-sprinted Ben Hallworth (second category rider).

Chris Ranson (Houghton CC) finished a respectable 31st.

Result: 1 Charlie Tanfield (Adept PrecisionRT/NE Healthcare), 2 Nathan Wilson (Clay Cross RT), 3 Ben Hallworth (Ilkley CC), 4 Dan Bryant (Durham University CC), 5 Harry Tanfield (KTM road-trail.com), 6 Sean Noon (Team ASL360 The Health Boutique), 7 Richard Meadows (Team Haribo-Beacon), 8 Ryan Fenwick (The Racers), 9 Ruari Grant (Durham University CC), 10 Thomas Timothy (Achieve/Skinnergate RAcing).