Ranson stars for Houghton

Chris Ranson.
Chris Ranson.
Have your say

HOUGHTON CC’s Chris Ranson finished fourth in the Thursday evening Crits 3/4 category race at Middlesbrough.

The Elite 1/2/3 category race started off quickly, averaging over 27mph. There were a number of attacks from the start, mainly from Richard Meadows (Sportscover), followed by Jack Rees (Achieve).

These were initially short lived and brought back to the main group until the midway point, when a group of three escaped to establish a 40-second lead.

This set the scene for the rest of the race with the peleton resigning itself to competing for the other placings.

Richard Meadows won for the second week in a row, with Simon Baxter second.

As the group wound up for the sprint, one rider came down in the final corner bringing Andy Brennan (Houghton) down and holding up two others.

This group limped across the line, disappointed at not being able to compete in the sprint finish.

Ranson raced again on Friday evening at the Hartlepool Carnival Criterium and finished eighth in the 3/4 category race.

Ranson also took part in the Thomas Ord Memorial Criterium, sponsored by Achieve Cycles, at the Go-Kart circuit on Teeside, finishing tenth.

H The Tuesday evening 9-mile time trial, on the Leamside circuit, was won again by Mark Harrison with a time of 20 minutes and 48 seconds.

Results: Mark Harrison (Houghton CC) 20min 48sec, Craig Stephenson (Sunderland Clarion) 21.17, Peter Hale (Ferryhill Wheelers) 21.18, Neil Wallbank (Sunderland Clarion) 22.34, Ian Jobling (Houghton CC) 22.54, Andy Ayre (Sunderland Clarion) 23.03, Ian Hodgson (Houghton CC) 23.18, C Constanti (Sunderland Clarion) 23.46, P Tyler (Cestria CC) 23.54, Johnny Roberts (Sunderland Clarion) 24.21, Mal Sellers (Houghton CC) 24.37, E McLeod (Sunderland Clarion) 24.47, Steven Thew (Houghton CC) 25.22, Scott Russell (Houghton CC) 25.23, D Marshall (Cestria CC) 25.45, Steve Homer (Houghton CC) 25.46, Steve Kerr (Sunderland Clarion) 25.49, Joe Applegarth (Houghton CC) 26.29, M Olley (Houghton CC) 26.35, Chuck Taylor (Houghton CC) 26.35, Alison Raine (Houghton CC) 26.42, Andy Hardy (Houghton CC) 27.05, Andrew Stokoe (Cestria CC) 27.18, Colin Oxberry (Houghton CC) 27.29, Barry Richards (Houghton CC) 28.00, Joe Short (Houghton CC) 28.18, Peter Baggley (Sunderland Clarion) 28.32, Brian Henderson (Houghton CC) 28.57.