Promotion for Robson

Have your say

HOUGHTON Cycling Club’s Paul Robson won his category group in the North East Cyclocross League.

He won by 10 points and will be promoted into the inter league next season, starting in September.

It’s been a busy time for Houghton’s riders, including Round Three of the Velo29 Winter Series at Croft Circuit.

The first race was an eight-lap Go Race fourth category race over 18 miles.

There were more than 90 riders involved, with Mark Harrison, Eric Henderson, Dave Ranson, Alan Palmer and David Stevens representing Houghton.

Harrison had to retire on the last lap as he touched a wheel and went down, but everyone else finished strongly.

Dan Bryant (Durham University) won from Frank Montague, with Hetton Hawks’ Luke Mullen third. Bryant also won the sprint lap.

In the Go Race event, the winner was James Corcoran of Stockton Wheelers, with Chris Mulliner of Durham University second and Steve Howe third.

The second race had a field of more than 100 riders over a 15-lap (30 mile) distance.

Houghton CC had six riders – Ian Jobling, Richie Ranson, Dave Ranson, Alan Palmer, Chris Ranson and Mark Harrison.

Jobling, doing well in only his second race, kept in the main group for 11 laps and finished in a splinter group just behind the main peloton.

Richie, Dave and Chris Ranson all finished the race strongly in the main peloton, contesting a bunched sprint finish.

Harrison was forced to retire on the last lap, while Palmer, in his second race of the day, retired early after a strong effort to stay with the peloton.

Jack Rees won the race after getting away from the bunch.

The winner of the Regional C+ race was Jack Rees (Achieve), with James Alder (Velo) second and David Johnson ( third.

The sprint was won by Graham Howell of Forza Cycles.

Matt Webb rode in a fourth category race at the Mountbatten Centre in Portsmouth. He finished in sixth place and collected four points for the club.