Parkin swoops to seal victory

Have your say

HOUGHTON Cycling Club promoted the second in their series of circuit races at Hetton Lyons Country Park last Sunday.

The first senior event was a Regional B race for third and fourth category riders, lasting 60 minutes with a field of 62 riders.

Luke Parkin, of Hetton Hawks, broke away from the bunch with four laps to go, and stayed away to secure a good win.

The primes were won by Kevin Byers and Luke Parkin.

Results: 1 Luke Parkin (Hetton Hawks Cycling Club), 2 Jacob Kriehn (Achieve-Skinnergate Racing), 3 Stuart Neilson, 4 Elliot Davidson (Cestria Cycles RT), 5 Antony Dickinson (Sunderland Clarion CC), 6 Michael Wright (Middridge CRT), 7 Iain Turnbull (Achieve-Skinnergate), 8 Duncan Warner (Airedale Olympic CC), 9 James Morgan (Hetton Hawks Cycling Club) 10 Harry Craig (Motivo RT).

The second senior race was a National B Event for Elite/1/2/3 category riders, with a field of 34 riders.

There was a break of five riders early on in the race and that soon went down to three, who stayed ahead of the field for the rest of the race, eventually leading by over a lap and a half.

Ben Hetherington (17) triumphed ahead of Scott Auld (16) and Colin Humphey.

The rest of the field were a lap and a half behind, with only 14 riders finishing in bad weather conditions.

Hetherington won the first prime and Humphries the second.

Results: 1 Master Ben Hetherington (Dirtwheels Cycles), 2 Scott Auld (Dirtwheels Cycles), 3 Colin Humphrey (Achieve-Skinnergate Racing), 4 Craig Anderson (Achieve-Skinnergate Racing), 5 James Alder (Velo29-Blackhawk), 6 David Johnson (, 7 Jordan Matthews (Adept Precision Racing) 8 Shaun Nicholson (Blackhawk Bikes), 9 Karl Denton (Ouseburn Coffee Company/Legend), 10 Master Joshua Moody (Adept Precision Racing), 11 Matty Cooper (Achieve-Skinnergate Racing), 12 Andrew Wooler (Dirtwheels Cycles), 13 Tom Harcourt (Blackhawk Bikes), 14 Christian Fewtrell (Achieve-Skinnergate Racing).

The first events of the day were two North East League Youth races, involving riders aged 8-16.

H The previous Sunday, there was a VTTA (Northern) 25-mile time trial with Colin Humphrey of Achieve Skinnergate Racing winning with a time of 52 minutes, 3 seconds.

Two Houghton CC riders were also riding this event; Ian Jopling finishing (1 hour 9 minutes) and Herbie Taylor (1 hour 21 minutes).

Houghton CC 9 mile time trial results.

Tuesday: Mark Harrison (Houghton) 21.0, R Lilleker (Cleveland Wheelers) 21.42, Jordan Matthews (Adept) 21.56, Paul Whitehill (Infinity) 22.12, Andy Brennan (Houghton) 22.23, Rick Mitford (Cestria) 22.31, Andy Ayre (Sunderland Clarion) 23.19, Ian Jobling (Houghton) 23.33, Nick Jobson (Cestria) 24.57, Peter Tuckwell (Houghton) 25.0, Scott Russell (Houghton) 25.58, Stuart Thew (Houghton) 26.2, Alan Pamler (Houghton) 26.5, Steve Kerr (Sunderland Clarion) 26.14, Phil White (Houghton) 26.26, Colin Humphrey (Houghton) 26.34, Joe Applegarth (Houghton) 26.45, Dave Marshal (Cestria) 27.10, Barry Richards (Houghton) 27.44, Andy Hardy (Houghton) 27.50, Peter Baggarley (Sunderland Clarion) 28.3, Ray Robinson (Houghton) 28.38, Alison Raine (Houghton) 28.48, Malcolm Selers (Houghton) 28.48, Chuck Taylor (Houghton) 28.50, Brian Henderson (Houghton) 29.30.

H Houghton CC’s next event will be an Open 25-mile Time Trial on Sunday, May 26, starting at 8am on M254 course at Ponteland. For more information: