Mullen turns on the style for fine victory

editorial image
Have your say

SUNDERLAND Clarion welcomed the region’s most talented cyclists to an electric day of racing at the Hetton Lyons crit race circuit.

The day started with the 3/4 race, in which the Clarion were represented by Iain Beveridge and Kris Adlington, along with 27 other riders.

After 45 minutes of action there was little in it, however, an attack on the final lap from Hetton Hawks’ Luke Mullen saw him open up a gap big enough to hold off the chasing pack.

Fietsen Tempo’s Mike Bell came in second, while Chris Mather (M Steel Cycles) finished third.

Mullen’s move followed a tactically astute performance that saw the youngster got the better of some of the region’s wiliest vetrans.

Mullen, feeling good, opted to start the headline race, the E/1/2/3, which also saw Neil Wallbank and Michael Sloanes take to the line for Clarion.

The race saw a number of the region and Scotland’s best racers, with two particularly strong teams from Achieve-Skinnergate Racing and The Rigmars Racers.

Will Brown (Achieve-Skinnergate Racing), Philip Trodden (The Rigmars Racers) and Harry Tanfield (KTM built up a gap of nearly a minute over the trailing bunch.

As the break entered the final lap, luck intervened and saw Trodden suffer a puncture, a fate that had already been suffered by a number of riders, including Sloanes, as the wet conditions washed debris into the circuit.

With the finish line in sight Tanfield opened up a sprint which Brown couldn’t respond to, while behind them Trodden rolled in just ahead of the chasing bunch.

Tanfield continued his winning form with a win at the Tickhill GP on Sunday in Yorkshire.

Sunday also saw two Clarion riders taking part in the final 25-mile time trial in the North East region of the season, with Ingrid Shepherd and Steve Gordon representing the club in 25.

The event was won by Keith Murray (54:31) ahead of Carl Donaldson (55:24).

It was a good day for the Clarion duo with both picking up personal bests, Gordon clocking 59:38, while Ingrid came in three minutes faster than her previous course best in 1:07:37.

3/4 Result: 1 Luke Mullen (Hetton Hawks Cycling Club), 2 Mike Bell (Fietsen Tempo), 3 Chris Mather (M Steel Cycles), 4 Iain Turnbull (Achieve Skinnergate Racing), 5 Chris Burns (Cestria CC), 6 Paul Tyrell (South Shields Velo), 7 Mark Snape (Fietsen Tempo), 8 Simon Fairfull (Velo Club Moulin), 9 Andrew Clare (Teesside Clarion), 10 Graeme Scott (Edinburgh RC).

E/1/2/3 Result: 1 Harry Tanfield (KTM, 2 William Brown (Achieve Skinnergate Racing), 3 Philip Trodden (The Rigmars Racers), 4 Craig Anderson (Achieve Skinnergate Racing), 5 Jack Rees (Achieve Skinnergate Racing), 6 Jack Barrett (The Rigmars Racers), 7 Andrew Scorey (Berwick Wheelers), 8 Ben Hetherington (Achieve Skinnergate Racing), 9 James Alder (Cycleways), 10 Finlay Young (The Rigmars Racers), 11 Thomas Timothy (Achieve Skinnergate Racing), 12 Stuart Neilson (Fietsen Tempo), 13 Ryan Fenwick (The Rigmars Racers), 14 Chris Fewtrell (Achieve Skinnergate Racing), 15 Ian Cowen (Cleveland Wheelers CC).