Martin’s super-quick to take Clarion Hill title

Share this article
Have your say

JUNIOR rider Adam Martin (Cestria RT) won the Sunderland Clarion Hill Climb in a new course record time of three minutes, 47 seconds.

The competition was held in good conditions, with a good crowd at Lady Park, Gateshead.

The one mile climb up Banesley Lane toward Old Ravensworth is a challenging course, testing cyclists on varying gradients and a rough road surface.

In second place was defending champion Ian Taylor (Herbalife Wheelbase) with a time of 3:56, followed by GS Metro’s Ben Lane (4:04), who was also first veteran.

It was the second weekend in a row that Taylor and Lane had to be content with the two lower steps of the podium, after being beaten by Karl Denton (Yorkshire) at the GS Metro Hill Climb the previous Sunday.

The result means that Taylor leads Lane in the Tyne Tees Hill Climb championship by two points, in the five-event series, in which the top three scores count.

First lady was Dawn Sherrin (GS Metro) in 5:17, beating her previous ladies course record by five seconds in the process.

The competition within the Sunderland Clarion club competition was won by Matt France (eighth overall), in a time of 4:20, narrowly beating Michael Sloanes (4:28), with Chris Barnard (4:32) in third place.

Full Results: 1 Adam Martin (Cestria Cycles RT) 00:03:47, 2 Ian Taylor (Herbalife Wheelbase) 00:03:56, 3.Ben Lane (GS Metro) 00:04:04, 4 Paul Kirby (Cestria Cycles RT) 00:04:07, 5 Chris Herbert (Infinity Cycles) 00:04:10, 6 Craig Berry (Infinity Cycles) 00:04:14, 7 Richard Lilleker (Cleveland Wheelers) 00:04:17, 8 Matthew France (Sunderland Clarion CC) 00:04:20, 9 Neil Souter (GS Metro) 00:04:24, 10 Michael Sloanes (Sunderland Clarion CC) 00:04:28, 11 Paul Murphy (Tyne Vagabonds) 00:04:28, 12 Paul Hague (Gosforth RC) 00:04:30, 13 Carl Mustill (Ferryhill Wheelers) 00:04:31, 14 Chris Bernard (Sunderland Clarion CC) 00:04:32, 15 Adam Hogarth (Cestria Cycles CC) 00:04:36, 16 Charles Monchatre (Sunderland Clarion CC) 00:04:43, 17.Ritchie Case (Tyne Vagabonds) 00:04:47, 18 Clive Surman-Wells (Sunderland CC) 00:04:56, 19 Matthew Davies (Sunderland Clarion CC) 00:04:58, 20 Ian Hutchinson (Cleveland Wheelers CC) 00:05:12, 21 Chris Glass (Cestria Cycles RT) 00:05:16, 22 Dawn Sherrin (GS Metro) 00:05:17, 23 Nick Jobson (Cestria CC) 00:05:26, 24 Stephen Kerr (Sunderland Clarion CC) 00:05:52, 25 Grace Mallen (GS Metro) 00:06:43.