Martin claims win with sprint finish

editorial image
Have your say

METALTEK Kuota rider Adam Martin clinched victory on a hill climb sprint finish in Sunderland Clarion’s 64-mile road race – the club’s first open road race in years.

The cream of the North East’s second, third and fourth category riders descended on Middleton in Northumberland, with a strong Clarion team – Michael Sloanes, Chris Barnard, Tony Dickinson, Paul Cottrell, Mark Tully and Kris Adlington – taking to the line for the eight-lap race.

The race was initially animated by a four-man break containing some strong riders, with Mark Harrison (Houghton CC), Carl Donaldson (GS Metro), Shaun Tyson (Adept Precision RT) and Nick Spencer ( working well together to stay clear of the bunch.

Ian Norris ( led a group of riders to fight it out for the victory, with Martin, Rob Carter (TS Racing Team-Vankru), Joshua Jones (Beacon Wheelers) and Richard Jones (Achieve-Skinnergate Racing) working alongside Norris to stay ahead of the chasing pack.

Martin secured victory with a well-timed attack on the final climb, narrowly outsprinting Carter.

Behind them, a bunch led by Carter’s team-mate Boyes, swallowed up Norris and Jones to fight out for the remaining places.

Sloanes and Clarion member Ian Taylor ( were in the scramble, with Taylor finishing 11th, and Sloanes (16th) just missing out on the top 15 to Hetton Hawks’ Greg Taylor.

Harrison suffered a mechanical problem and had to retire, as did Donaldson, who developed cra,mp

Results: 1 Adam Martin (Metaltek Kuota RT), 2 Rob Carter (TS Racing Team-Vankru), 3 Joshua Jones (Beacon Wheelers), 4 Peter Boyes (TS Racing Team-Vankru), 5 Richard Jones (Achieve-Skinnergate Racing), 6 Ian Norris (, 7 Alex Luhrs (PH-MAS Cycling), 8 Alexander Foster (Border City Wheelers), 9 Tim Gill (Ilkley CC), 10 Mark Robertson (Army Cycling Union), 11 Ian Taylor (, 12 Robert Shields (GS Metro), 13 Ruari Grant (Durham University CC), 14 Alex O’Sullivan (Achieve-Skinnergate Racing), 15 Greg Taylor (Hetton Hawks CC).

H Carl Donaldson (GS Metro) won the Northumbria Police Open 10-mile time trial in 20min 20sec.

Results: 1 Carl Donaldson (GS Metro) 20.20 - Cat A, 2 James Falconer (Ferryhill Wheelers/Mountain High) 20.59 - Youth, 3 Ian Taylor ( 21.03 - Cat A, 10 Matt Webb (Houghton CC) 22.06 - Cat B, 31 Ian Jobling (Houghton CC) 25.02 - V45 Cat D, 35 Mal Sellers (Houghton CC) 25.54 - V 54 Cat D

H Mark Harrison was again the winner in the latest Houghton CC nine-mile evening time trial series over the Lumley circuit.

Results: 1 Mark Harrison (Houghton CC) 20.59, 2 Blaine Metcalf (Team Swift) 21.14, 3 Michael Sloanes (S’land Clarion) 22.16, 4 Chris Barnard (S’land Clarion) 22.23, 5 Steve Gordon (S’land Clarion) 22.31, 6 David Stevens (Houghton CC) 23.44, 7 Ingrid Shepherd (S’land Clarion) 24.23, 8 Ray Robinson (Houghton CC) 24.43, 9 Colin Humphrey (Houghton CC) 24.46, 10 Andy Murray (Houghton CC) 26.02, 11 Andy Hardy (Houghton CC) 26.05, 12 Steven Kerr (S’land Clarion) 26.07, 13 Dave Marshall (Cestria CC) 27.23, 14 Jonathan Mordue (Houghton CC) 27.49, 15 Chuck Taylor (Houghton CC) 28.28, 16 Brian Henderson (Houghton CC) 29.32.