Joan seals National glory

Have your say

THE Durham County Walker Cup double fours squad triumphed at the Ladies National Championships at Leamington Spa.

They took the national title with a terrific 40-37 win over Oxfordshire in the final.

In the semi-final against Somerset, Ann Anderson’s rink of Ann Bernard, Sue Almond and Teresa Pearson eased to a 31-17 win over Jill Young, while the rink of Susan Forster, Fay Slinn, Joan Rodgerson and Gill Jones had to settle for a 27-20 defeat at the hands of Joan Walmsley.

In the final, however, roles were reversed as Anderson went down 21-19 leaving the Jones quartet with three ends to play and the added task of defeating England international Kath Hawes by three shots.

Going into the last end, Jones only led by one shot and it took a cracking bowl from Houghton’s Joan Rodgerson to trail the jack for a match-winning two shot position.

That never changedm leaving Jones 21-16 up and Durham the winners overall 40-37.

Earlier in the week in the national singles, both Durham hopes went out in the first round,

Darlington Woodland’s Ann Anderson went down 21-13 to Yorkshire’s Shirley Litten, while Consett’s Gill Jones went down 21-12 to Worcestershire’s Sue Davies.

It was a disappointing week for the Durham qualifiers at Worthing competing in the men’s National Championships.

The two-week bowls bonanza kicked off with the Junior Singles. Silksworth’s Gary Farquhar reached the second round after defeating Suffolk’s Liam Harris 21-10 before succumbing to Warwickshire’s Tom Millership 21-10.

The new county champion Darlington RA’s Liam Macey also went out in the second round 21-9 to Somerset’s Louis Ridout. The eventual winner was Northants’ Jamie Walker.

In the fours, both Houghton Dairy Lane squads made first round exits.

John Thurlbeck’s quartet had a real tough opener against Devon’s England international Jamie Chestney and went down 22-8. while Kenny Briscoe’s quartet never recovered from trailing 15-0 and eventually went down 24-6 to Buckinghamshire’s Wayne Richardson. The eventual winner was Cornwall’s Colin Binny.

There was no better news in the triples as county champions Darlington RA’s John Hill’s made a first round exit 21-14 to Leicestershire’s Neil Hope, while Leeholme’s Barry Attwood was well beaten 26-2 by Derbyshire’s Ashley Clipston.

H The Sunderland Women’s Bowling Association has been celebrating its 75th Anniversary this year, and part of the celebration has been a fours tournament held at Thompson Park.

The final saw Houghton Town’s Joan Watt, Brenda Robson, Pauline Vincent and Ellen Faith defeat Grindon Mill’s Amy Bevan, Angela Westray, Eleanor Barren and Gwen Eltringham 16-5.

To reach the final, the Houghton quartet defeated Roker Park’s Ann Candlish, Iris Cantes, Pat Johnson and Maureen Firth 8-5, while the Grindon ladies defeated another Roker Park quartet of Angela Beattie, Jean Huntingdon, Ann Laing and Doreen Hall 11-5.

This season’s SWBA League champions are Houghton Dairy Lane, runners-up are neighbours Houghton Town with Silksworth third and Sunderland fourth.

H The SWBA Champion Of Champions takes place on Thursday at Barnes Park with the preliminary round and first round taking place.

Ties are due to start at 10am, with the semi-final and final set for Thompson Park on August 27 also at 10am.

The list of entrants is: D.Kerrigan (Barnes Park), G.Eltringham (Grindon Mill), J.Watt (Houghton Town), Ann Laing (Roker Park), A.Curtis (Roker Marine), B.Forrest (Ryhope), S.Almond (Sunderland), A.Rush (Thompson Park), B.Harper (Whitburn). Both Houghton Dairy Lane and Silksworth have no entry.

H The draw for the two Champion of Champions events have been made. Copies have been sent by e-mail and post.

If any club hasn’t received a copy, they need to contact either George Charlton or Jim Huntingdon. A copy is also available to download via the website.

Main Draw – First Round: W.Barkes (Ryhope) v D.Bolt (Silksworth), R.Graham (Roker Marine) v R.Alexander (BWE), T.Dean (Barnes Park) v S.Don (Whitburn), J.Purdy (Hetton Wkmen) v J.Muldown (North Biddick), B.Sanderson (Barley Mow) v K.Roberts (Usworth), A.Maidmanet (Hylton CW) v J.Horton (Thompson Park), J.Dinsdale (Seaham Town) v C.Byers (Grindon Mill), D.New (Sunderland) v A.Wilkinson (Houghton Town). Ties to be played by August 26,

Seniors Draw, First Round: R.Alexander (BWE) v R.Campbell (Sunderland), R.Sanderson (Barley Mow) v JA Smith (Whitburn), K.Richardson (Barnes Park) v P.Harding (Hetton Wkmen), T.Williamson (Seaham Town) v W.Wilson (Ryhope), E.Middlemiss (Hylton CW) v W.Piggott (North Biddick), W.Laidler (Washington Glebe) v M.Murphy (Wearmouth), R.Maxwell (Roker Marine) v A.Layton (Grindon Mill) or W.Ferry (Silksworth), R.Goldsmith (Thompson Park) v W.Storey (Houghton Town). Ties to be played by August 26.

H The last remaining unbeaten record in the Earl Cup survived a scare as leaders Silksworth retained their title with a last end 68-64 win over Roker Park.

That win saw Silksworth finish with 93½ points which, amazingly, is almost double what they registered only six years ago which shows the change in fortunes for the club.

Hylton Colliery Welfare’s 7-0 defeat at Thompson Park condemns then to the next tier alongside Barley Mow.

The destination of the Swan Cup was decided after holders Usworth defeated North Biddick by 40 shots (6-1) to retain their title.

That win for Usworth thwarted a Silksworth double, as they finish two points behind the winners.

In the Storey Bowl, Seaham Town look set for a first league success in 19 years as they have a nine-point lead at the top.

Latest results: Earl Cup Division One: Houghton Town 6 Barley Mow 1, North Biddick ½ Silksworth 6½, Roker Park 1½ Usworth -5½, Ryhope 6 Barnes WE 1, Seaham Town 3½ Barnes Park 3½, South Hylton 5½ Roker Marine 1½, Thompson Park 7 Hylton CW 0, Silksworth 5½ Roker Park 1½, Barnes Park 1½ Houghton Town 5½.

Swan Cup Division One: Grindon Mill 2 Roker Park 5, Hetton Wkmen 5 Ryhope 2, Roker Marine 1 Houghton DL 6, Silksworth 6 Houghton Town 1, Thompson Park 1 Barnes Park 6, Usworth 6 North Biddick 1.

Harold Howey Division One: Barley Mow 1 Lumley 3, Houghton DL A 1 Ryhope A 3, Roker Park A 3 Seaham Town A 1, Silksworth A 1 North Biddick A 3, South Hylton 3 Chester-le-St 1.

Harold Howey Division Two: North Biddick B 3½ Dawdon ½, Roker Marine A 0 Roker Park B 4, Seaham Town B 1 Hylton CW 3.

Storey Bowl: Pennywell 5 Hetton Wkmen 1, Thompson Park 1½ Houghton Town 5½.