Houghton too strong for Sunderland

Have your say

Bowls notes by Richard Mckie

SUNDERLAND ladies suffered diappointment in the first round of this year’s Yetton Trophy as they crashed to a 112-59 defeat at the hands of neighbours Houghton.

At Crowtree, the two Sunderland rinks had mixed fortunes.

Amy Bevan, Madge Robins, Hilda Snell and Valerie Bambrough defeated M.Metcalf, A,Latimer, J.Baker and M.Coulson 20-18, while Alice Curtis, Pat Wayman, Pat Johnson and Ella Baker went down 25-18 to Maureen Hall, B.Prudhoe, Mary Middleton and Norma Stephenson.

Those results saw Houghton leave Crowtree with a six-shot advantage which was increased at Houghton as both Sunderland squads were well beaten.

Evelyn Barkes, Renee Mallaburn, Maureen Firth and Florence Rodenby went down 29-14 to J.Wait, P.Vincent, P.White and JB.Smith.

The remaining Sunderland rink of Doreen Kerrigan, Sheila Thomson, Gwen Eltringham and Ethel Pattinson had a torrid afternoon going down 40-7 to Susan Forster, F.Phythinan, Ellen Faith and Betty Johnson.

That left Houghton 48 shots up at home.

In the next round, Houghton will face South Shields, who got the better of Durham 99-59.

In the latest round of senior inter-club fixtures, the Sunderland A team suffered a second consecutive defeat after an impressive Houghton A team recorded a 4-1 (41-31) victory at Crowtree.

Bobby Graham’s quartet of George Brown, Joe Flett and Ray Robinson defeated Peter Harding 15-6, Pat Collins, Arthur Baker, John Jones and Tommy Jopling went down 16-7 to David Sim while the third rink of John Smith, Ted Forster, Fred Knubley and Billy Ferry went down 19-9 to W.Makin.

The defeat for Sunderland leaves them with a lot of ground to make up just to finish runners-up, while Houghton A occupy the runners-up spot.

The Sunderland B team enjoyed a rare away win as they defeated Hartlepool A 4-1 (45-42). John Banks, Eddie Cook, Billy Conway and Dennis Hulley defeated K.Wilford 17-13 while Peter Duke, Bobby Usher, Billy Roberts and Tom Jones defeated M.Parkin 17-14.

The remaining rink of Tony Grimes, Bobby Adams, Peter Thomson and Terry Todd were unlucky to go down 15-11 to an inspired Cliff Simpson, although Todd can take comfort as the last-end count of five sealed the overall total.

This weekend, Sunderland return to Denny Cup action as they entertain Durham. After the win over Houghton, the selectors have kept faith with the same squad.

At Crowtree – J.McKenna, TW.Todd, J.Jones, W.Ferry, K.Hopper, A.Ferguson, M.Davis, T.Jopling. Reserves – R.Usher, G.Simpson.

At Houghton – J.Flett, D.Todner, M.Higgins, P.Thomson, M.Wright, W.Hearne, R.Robinson, R.Graham. Reserve - A.Grimes.

This season’s local section of the various national competitions are well under way.

In the singles, Tommy Jopling defeated Durham’s Keith Elliott 21-6 to set up a trip to either C.Yeomans (The Parks) or J.Brass (S Shields).

In the all-Stanley affair, Ian Riches defeated Michael Laydon 21-15 and will next host Mick McGreevy (West Denton) or Alan Thompson (Sunderland).

Sunderland’s Peter Thomson found Stanley’s Gary Smith to hot to handle as Smith ran out a 21-6 winner and will now travel to Shields to face Kevin Donkin, who defeated Stanley’s Phil Dixon 21-9.

In the pairs, Dale Fenwick and Locky Todd nearly performed a great escape against The Parks’ Steven Harvey. Trailing 11-1, the Sunderland pair actually led 20-16 only to go down 22-20. Tomorrow, there should be a cracking tie as Sunderland’s Dan Todner and Pat Thomson entertain England internationals David Bolt and Gary Smith.

In the Over 60s singles, Joe Flett had a cracking 21-13 win over Stanley’s Billy Bell and will now face The Parks’ Brian Houghton.

In the champion of champions, Sunderland’s Gary Smith moved into the area final after a 21-5 win at Houghton over Joe Sutherland. In the area final, Smith will face Hebburn’s Alan Lawton.

The Durham County Under 25s squad play Notts in the first round of the national U25 double fours tomorrow. This season the county are using Crowtree as the home venue, while the away leg is at Alfreton. Durham have named the following team –

At Sunderland – J.Forcer (Hartlepool), J.Ballantyne (Hartlepool), P.Dixon (Stanley), G.Farquhar (Stanley). Reserves – B.Cairns, T.Cairns (both Darlington).

At Alfreton – N.Cummings (Darlington), M.Ray, A.Portaway, J.Harris (all Hartlepool). Reserves – J.Humble, C.Beck (both Darlington). The game starts at 12.30pm.

As a trial this weekend, the club is providing members the opportunity to keep up to date with live scores for the Denny Cup tie, the Under 25’s double fours tie and the Thomson/Smith pairs tie, via the club’s website.

At the EIBA School of Excellence finals, Darlington youngster Noah Cummings lifted the junior title. There were 32 of the country’s top youngsters who qualified for the latter stages which comprised of a series of matches and skill tests to determine the winners.

Cummings last month represented England in the Under 18 International series at Stanley.