Heartbreak for Durham’s A-team

editorial image
Have your say

DURHAM County’s A team suffered heartbreak in the final round of Middleton Cup group fixtures at Dairy Lane.

Facing a Lancashire outfit who could still qualify, the Durham squad needed eight points from the 22 on offer to progress to the quarter-finals.

However, Lancashire spoiled the party as they ran out winners by 11 shots but, more importantly, they restricted Durham to only five points.

That, combined with Northumberland’s 20-2 rout of Lincolnshire, saw Northumberland snatch top spot by two points.

Across the green, Durham’s only winning rink was skipped by Silksworth’s Billy Ferry, who sneaked home 20-19.

Three rinks drew. Elm Tree’s Glen Skipp quartet recovered from 10 down to collect a last-end three to draw 17-17, Silksworth’s David Bolt snatched a last-bowl 20-20 draw, while Stockton’s Paul Mosley recorded the same score.

Team manager Andrew Kirtland went down 13-12 on the last end, while Silksworth’s Phil Smithson succumbed 25-14.

Final group standings: Northumberland 44, Durham 42, Lancashire 38, Lincolnshire 6.

Quarter-final draw – Northumberland v Cumbria, Surrey v Hampshire, Norfolk v Essex, Wiltshire v Devon.

It was a different story for the Durham Ladies A team as they qualified for the quarter-finals in the John’s Trophy following a tremendous four-shot win over group leaders Nottinghamshire at Copmanthorpe.

Durham collected 18 points which secured top spot in the group and a last-eight tie against Lincolnshire at Shipton.

Final group standings: Durham 42, Yorkshire 38, Notts 38, Derbyshire 14

Quarter-final draw: Durham v Lincolnshire, Surrey v Hampshire, Norfolk v Northamptonshire, Devon v Warwickshire

H The Sunderland and District 3-2-1 Knockout triples competition has reached the final stage, with Usworth facing Sunderland at Grindon Mill on Tuesday.

In the semi-finals. Usworth defeated Thompson Park 250-152 while Sunderland edged past Whitburn 223-209.

Latest Silver Jacks results: C Fish (HW) 21 T Ainslie (Washington) 20, D Hulley (Thompson Pk) 17 D Wright (Seaham Town) 18, B Henderson (Seaham Town) 1 A Hill (Barnes Pk) 0, R Alexander (Barnes WE) 13 P Smithson (Silksworth) 18, E Fountain (Thompson Pk) 20 M Laydon (Silksworth) 13, B Sanderson (Barnes WE) 14 G Wallace (HW) 17, H Welsh (Roker Pk) 11 H Chalmers (North Biddick) 20

H The Durham Indoor Bowling Club is currently in the process of having a new carpet laid as well as an insulated ceiling installed.

However, vandals set alight wooden pallets which resulted in the centre – which was hosting a dance night – being evacuated.

Although the building suffered no major damage, police are treating the incident as arson, and anyone with information on the incident is asked to call Durham Police on 101 or the independent charity Crimestoppers anonymously on 0800 555 111.

THERE will be no repeat Burkett Shield win for Roker Marine’s Peter Thomson.

Barnes West End’s Bobby Alexander inflicted a 22-11 defeat on the holders, and now move into the last eight at Roker Park on Tuesday, July 22.

H The Marjorie Marshall Triples took place at Barnes Park this week. Nineteen triples took part and by the end of the day the competition was down to a semi-final line-up of Maureen Hall, Mary Middleton, Norma Stephenson (Silksworth) v Jean Graham, Janet Sykes, Susan Almond (Sunderland) and Joan Richardson, Jean Huntingdon, Doreen Hall (Roker Park) v Linda Forrest, Valerie Bambrough, Ethel Pattinson (Barnes Park).

The semi-finals and final will be played at Barnes West End on Tuesday (11am).

Latest league results, Earl Cup Div One: Houghton DL 1 Roker Marine 6, Ryhope 5 Barnes Pk 2, Seaham Town 5 Houghton Town 2, Silksworth 5 Usworth 2. Div Two: Hetton 7 Biddick 0, Roker Pk 1½ Thompson Pk 5½, Sth Hylton 6 Hylton CW 1, Sunderland 5½ Whitburn 1½. Div Three: Barnes WE 6 Pemberton 1, New Herrington 2 Washington 5. Swan Cup Div One: Houghton Town 5 Sth Hylton 2, Roker Marine 5½ Silksworth 1½, Usworth 2 Houghton DL 5. Div Two: Herrington Wkmn 6 Roker Pk 1, Thompson Pk 2 Biddick 5. Div Three: Grindon Mill 2 Ryhope 5, Washington 6 Hylton CW 1. Harold Howey Trophy, Div One: Hetton 4 Thompson Pk A 0, Lumley 0 Barnes Pk A 4, Ryhope B 4 Chester-le-St A 0. Div Two: Barnes Pk A 1 Dawdon 3, Houghton Town A 0 Sunderland A 4, Biddick B 3 Seaham Town A 1. Div Three: Pemberton A 4 Grindon Mill 0, Pennywell B 3 New Herrington 1, Sunderland B 1 Roker Marine B 3. Storey Bowl: Hetton 6 Wearmouth 1, Houghton Town 3½ Hylton CW 3½, Roker Pk 3½ Pennywell 3½.