Harrison misses out on podium finish

Have your say

HOUGHTON CC’s Mark Harrison had an outstanding ride to finish fourth inthe Cramlington CC open 18-mile Time Trial.

As a result of this, Houghton CC climbed the NDCA Best All Rounder league to second place with 625 points, behind Tyneside Vagabonds with 650 points.

The winner was Silas Goldsworthy (Sandy Wallace Cycles) who finished in 39 minutes 37 seconds.

Results: 1 Silas Goldsworthy (Sandy Wallace Cycles SCU) 39:37, 2 Chris Isats (Berwick Wheelers) 40:39, 3 Blain Metccalf (Team Swift) 40:59, 4 Mark Harrison (Houghton CC) 41:05, 18 Paul Whitehill (Houghton CC) 44:05, 42 Ian Jobling (Houghton CC) 48:55, 45 Mal Sellers (Houghton CC) 49:31.

Houghton CC’s Matthew Webb took part in the Teesdale CRC 21-mile Time Trial that started in Staindrop, but it was Paul Thirling (Stockton Wheelers CC) who finished first with a time of 49.18, beating Steve Gibson (Peak Road Club) by just 10 seconds.

There were also prizes for different categories.

Results: 1 Paul Thirling (Stockton Wheelers CC) 49:18, 2 Steve Gibson (Peak Road Club) 49:28, 3 Glen Turnbull (Patron) 49:53, 16 Matthew Webb (Houghton CC) 55:29.

First Lady: Louise Hamilton (Teesdale CRC) 1:10:22. First Junior: Nick Hamilton (Teesdale CRC) 57:15. First Vet over 40: Simon Coates (Cleveland Wheelers CC) 49:58. First Vet over 50: Doug Hall (Border City Wheelers) 55:23. First Vet over 60: Steve Davies (Ferryhill Wheelers/Mountain High) 57:20.