Harrison edged into second in sprint finish

Have your say

HOUGHTON CC held their first series of races at Gateshead SASMI track on Sunday.

The senior races began with a 4th Category race in which Houghton CC had six riders, Fred Napier, Colin Humphrey, Dave Penny, Ian Jobling, Mark Harrison and Dave Ranson.

In a sprint finish, Mark Harrison (Houghton CC) led out only to be out-sprinted by Craig Stevens (NRG/Godley RT), who eventually won.

4th Category Results: 1 Craig Stevens (NRG/Godley RT), 2 Mark Harrison (Houghton CC), 2 Edward Beechinor-Collins (Tyneside Vagabonds), 4 Anthony Moy (Cleveland Wheelers CC), 5 Benjamin Sutcliffe (Manilla Cycling).

There was a series of races for children aged 8-16.

In the 3/4 Category event, Houghton CC’s Dave Ranson and Andy Brennan took part.

A bunch tried several times to make the break, but were not successful.

It ended in a sprint finish which included the Houghton riders, but it was Ian Cowan (Cleveland Wheelers CC) who cliamed glory.

3/4 Category results: 1 Ian Cowan (Cleveland Wheelers CC), 2 Greg Booth (Manilla Cycling), 3 Michael Wright (Middridge CRT), 4 Scott Campbell (Hamilton), 5 Grant Martin (Spokes Racing Team).

The final race of the day was the Elite/1/2/3 category race.

This was a 90-minute race and Houghton were represented by Chris and Ritchie Ranson.

Riders produced a fine race that took place in torrential rain.

Halfway through the race saw a break of four riders – James Alder (Cycleways Sport & Leisure), Michael Sloanes (Sunderland Clarion), Colin Humphreys (Achieve Skinnergate) and Ruari Grant (Durham University CC).

This group stayed away from the rest and were working well together, almost lapping the field, which had split up into several groups.

In the sprint, James Alder (Cycleways Sports & Leisure) clinched the win from Michael Sloanes (Sunderland Clarion), in what is his first race of the season.

The primes were won by Ruari Grant (Durham University CC).

Elite/1/2/3 category Results: 1 James Alder (Cycleways Sports & Leisure) - 1st Cat, 2 Michael Sloanes (Sunderland Clarion CC) - 2nd Cat, 3 Collin Humphrey (Achieve Skinnergate Racing) - 1st Cat, 4 Ruari Grant (Durham University Cycling Club) - 2nd Cat, 5 Craig Adams (Leslie Bike Shop/Bikers Boutique) - 1st Cat.

On Saturday, Mark Harrison (Houghton CC) finished sixth in the Drighlington BC 25-mile Time Trial in a time of 57 minutes, 1 second.

The winner was Blaine Metcalf (Team Swift) in a time of 55 minutes 29 seconds.

H Houghton held the first of the 9-mile Time Trials on the Lumley Circuit on Wednesday night. This is a regular series of races running until the end of August.

They used to be held on Tuesday evenings, but this has changed to Wednesday evenings and are very well supported by local Cycling Clubs.

Winner of this first event was Mark Harrison with a time of 20 minutes 56 seconds.

Results: 1 Mark Harrison (Houghton CC) 20.56, 2 Matt Webb (Houghton CC) 21.55, 3 Paul Whitehill (Houghton CC) 21.57, 4 Steve Gordon (Sunderland Clarion) 22.43, 5 Giles White (Sherwood CC) 23.24.