Green Baize and Seaham Knack set for a cracking grand finale

Have your say

GREEN Baize will meet Seaham Knack in tonight’s Westoe Removals Sunderland Snooker League final at South Hylton WMC.

Baize won through a tough semi-final against Farringdon B, while the Knack defeated Biddick A.

A nervous start by Dean Wilson saw him give away two fouls, before pulling himself together and with two breaks of 24 and 21, took the lead.

However, it was Wilson who took the incentive.

Paul Grant came to life and took the first three colours to keep him in the frame.

He then took on a very fine cut on the blue that missed, leaving a simple opportunity for Wilson to clinch the frame 68-42 for Green Baize.

In the second, Colin Wrathmall played Peter Dambrosie.

It was one way traffic, with Dambrosie playing well, punishing any slip-up by Wrathmall to win 62-26.

Needing a win in the third frame, brought the best out of David Robinson, of Farringdon, who was aided by a 20 start over Jeff Burn.

Robinson took full control and cleared the colours to win 71-42 and keep Farringdon in the game.

The strong pairing of Wilson and Burn presented a challenge to Grant and Scott.

Green Baize cleaned up and a valiant attempt by the Farringdon players was not enough to prevent the Baize moving into the final.

The surprise package of this year’s competition has been Seaham Knack.

After being the only team to beat Hylton and Grindon 4-0 in the group stages, they faced the highly-rated Biddick A in the semi-final.

Glen Edwards opened against Graham Smith but suffered as Biddick took the frame.

Gary Dormand had a difficult task against Mick Riley. Riley took Biddick into a two-frame lead.

Shaun Donnelly had a fluke that lead him to the frame and the win against Rod Turnbull.

He was joined by Edwards in the pairs and the frame was only decided as Seaham took the colours to level.

The deciding frame saw Edwards take on Riley, who had been in a similar position in the semi-final. The tie was won by Seaham as Edwards won on the last black.

H At the AGM held at the Avenue, the following officials were re-elected to serve another year: Michael Monaghan Chairman, Vince Flynn Secretary, Sid Bate Fixture Secretary and Gary Dormand and Ray Charlton as Committee members.

Representatives are reminded that the monthly meeting will be held at the Avenue, on Thursday, September 1, when fixture lists will be available for the Winter Season.