Farnsworth starts the season in style for Cheema

Have your say

MARK Farnsworth is in sizzling form in the Westoe Removals Sunderland Snooker League.

The Cheema C man made a 70 break in the opening week, but bettered it in the second – compiling a superb 94.

Pennywell Comrades C must have entered their match with Cheema with trepidation but produced a tremendous performance before being edged out 3-2.

Anthony Miller and Farnsworth took the first two frames before Ian McDermott responded with a 59 break in winning the third. George Clark then levelled in the fourth before Miller and Thompson took the pairs to seal a narrow win.

Murton Vic visited St Gabiel’s and Colin Dobson won 70-12 in the first, before Tony Grimes and Ken Rackstraw took the next two to put the Saints ahead. Eddie Williamson responded in the next and joined Chris Fish in winning the pairs to claim a 3-2 win.

A smartly-dressed Farringdon B passed the test against Cheema B, winning 3-2 with Paul Grant impressive with a 58-8 win in the first. Anth and John Longstaff took the next two before Steve Scott claimed the fourth. With the pairs deciding the overall result, a determined pairing of Dave Robinson and Coin Wrathmall came good for Farringdon.

Biddick started well against Railway with Michael Simpson having a 29 break in winning the first and Peter Mills took the second. A revitalised Vince Flynn won the third on the black for Railway before Gary Turner levelled on the pink. Railway were leading in the pairs before a fluke by John Temple claimed the overall 3-2 result.

There were some good breaks in Washington Snooker B’s 5-0 win against the Victory. Gary Bell had a 32 in the third and Alex Hannah a 44 in the pairs.

Manna Singh hardly missed a ball in an impressive frame including a 33 break for Murton Officials against Cheema A. Harland Davidson won the second to extend the lead and a tight third frame was claimed by Declan Kemp of Cheema 52-48.

Murton took the last two with Ashcroft and Singh runaway winners in the pairs.

Washington Union beat Washington Snooker C 3-2 with Bill Bulch leading the way in the first and Peter Stafford and Brian McDonald in the next two. Bryan Jefferey started won the fourth and also triumphed in the pairs with Billy Bell.

Farringdon A won 5-0 against the Avenue to set a high standard to the rest of the teams to follow in the first division.

Tom Feenan and Gary Moore were involved in a fine frame before Feenan won 67-60 on the black. Ryan McKenna increased the lead in the second and a 48 break by Mick McLoughlin dominated the third.

Ian Stewart claimed the fourth and the pairs soon followed suit as Hazard and Burdon controlled the frame with Burdon scoring with a 31 break.

Whitburn are on fire and Steels A felt the heat as Derek White had a 22 break and John Smith breaks of 22 and 33 in their singles. Phil Freeman won 62-9 before Jim Gales pulled one back in a 58-20 success.

Breaks of 30 by Smith and 33 by Freeman soon took the pairs out of contention in a 4-1 score.

The Mill View teams had a double loss, with A losing 3-2 and B 5-0. Jeff Burn won the first for Green Baize before Paul Jenkins levelled in the second. John Burnell led for most of the way before Craig Kane took the last four colours to win. Dean Wilson had the run to beat Peter Davies and Kevin Alderson and Adam Burnell won the pairs 67-49.

Breaks of 16 by Terry Froud and Dave Adamson of Biddick A contributed to their 5-0 success in the first two frames. Graham Smith then recovered to beat John Spruce, and Ron Turnbull claimed the fourth before he joined Smith in winning the pairs on the black.

Seaham Knack had a rare home failure, losing 3-2 to Woodside A who won the last three frames.

Woodside B beat Washington S A 3-2 with Ritchie Milner having a 45 break.

Mark Anderson had breaks of 42 in his singles and 39 in their pairs as Pennywell A beat Hylton B 4-1.

Division One: Seaham Knack 2 Woodside A 3, Farringdon A 5 Avenue 0, Pennywell Coms A 4 Hylton B 1, Mill View A 2 Green Baize 3, Biddick A 5 Mill View B 0, Hylton A 5 Pennywell Coms B 0, Whitburn 4 Steels A 1, Woodside B 3 Washington Snooker A 2.

Division Two: Murton Officials 4 Cheema A 1, Pennywell Coms C 2 Cheema C 3, Washington Snooker B 5 Victory 0, Railway 2 Biddick B 3, Washington Union 3 Washington Snooker C 2, St Gabriel’s 2 Murton Vic 3, Cheema B 2 Farringdon B 3.