Davey Thompson holds off Anth Skelton challenge

Have your say

DAVEY Thompson and Tyne and Wear county team-mate Anth Skelton were involved in a Knack Premier Darts League thriller which went the full eight legs with Thompson coming out on top in a 5-3 win.

He hit 19 ton-plus scores against 16 by Skelton. Thompson’s best legs came in 15, 17 and 19 darts with a 101 checkout. Skelton’s winning legs were in 18, 20 and 22 darts including a superb 155 finish.

The “Big Man” Neil Richardson showed all his battling qualities to pull off a deserved draw against Spiller Henderson despite only five days earlier being under the surgeon’s knife.

Spiller hit 11 ton-plus scores while both players had 18 and 20 dart legs.

Reigning champion Graham Mullen was as usual in fine form with a fine 5-1 win against Ray Malarkey. It was Ray who started the stronger with a 17-dart first leg before Mullen reeled off five straight legs in 17, 21, 20, 21 and 21 darts including a 103 checkout.

Kevin Guy remained top with a comfortable whitewash victory over bottom-placed Martin Price with 19, 20 and 21 darts the best for Guy.

Anthony Gale got his first win in seven games with a hard-fought 5-3 scoreline against Barry Rutherford with a 112 checkout by Barry the highlight.

Jimmy Ashett hit 14 and 16 darts on his way to a convincing 5-1 win against an out-of-sorts Paul Gillibrand who won his solitary leg in 20 darts which sees Ashett move up to second.

Eddie Ashman made it five wins in a row with a 5-1 against eighth-placed Steve Skinner with a 19-dart leg by Ashman being the best.

Phil Dunn continues to improve with 13-ton plus scores helping him gain a point against Mark Robinson with both players hitting a couple of 20-dart legs a piece.

Neil Rose stayed seventh after a scrappy 5-1 win against Alan Smith with both players currently struggling for form.

Results: Paul Gillibrand 1 Jimmy Ashett 5, Spiller Henderson 4 Neil Richardson 4, Steve Skinner 1 Eddie Ashman 5, Kevin Guy 5 Martin Price 0, Graham Mullen 5 Ray Malarkey 1, Mark Robinson 4 Phil Dunn 4, Anthony Gale 5 Barry Rutherford 3, Anth Skelton 3 Davey Thompson 5, Neil Rose 5 Alan Smith 1, Paul Williams p-p John Redpath.