Chris Handy crowned Durham County champion, winning play-off at Wearside

Have your say

Chris Handy is the new Durham County Strokeplay champion.

The South Moor player landed the championship with a play-off victory over Hartlepool’s Jack Ainscough, after both posted 10-under-par four-round totals of 278 at Wearside.

Handy, whose scores improved with every round (74, 70, 68, 66) became only the third winner of the championship from South Moor, and the first since 1974.

Tyneside’s James Wilson finished third on nine under, with Craig Walton fourth for Seaham, albeit eight shots further back on one under.

Walton carded consistent rounds of 72, 71, 73 and 71 to finish on 287.

Boldon’s Rhys Thompson was joint sixth on 289 (78, 68, 73, 70) with Castle Eden’s Ryan Dixon and Robert Moon (Seaton Carew).

Boldon also had Gavin Nesbit ninth on 290 (72, 69, 72, 77), while Wearside’s Richard Walker – champion in 1990 and 1993 – carded rounds of 74, 75, 70 and 73 (292) to share 11th place with Andrew Bell of Durham City.

Seaham’s David Patterson, champion in 2007, was joint 13th on 293 alongside Castle Eden’s Jack Trewhitt.