Champions South Hylton A wrap up snooker season with a win

editorial image


Danby Autos Sunderland Snooker League champions South Hylton A signed off their winning campaign with a narrow 3-2 success over Seaham Conservatives B.

Graham Rutland, Steven Thompson and Norman Leslie put the title winners in total command.

However, a shortage of Hylton players meant Seaham won the fourth frame, before Robin Midson/Colin Dobson won the pairs frame, beating Thompson/Leslie 69-58 to reduce the defeat to 3-2.

Sean Henderson got Lumley off to a good start against league runners-up Boldon CA. Brian Meuse then won the second frame.

Adam Parker pull one back for Boldon, before John Smith levelled the match.

In the pairs, Graeme Ablett/Parker won Boldon the match when they beat Andrew Drinkwater/Meuse 58-41 for the 3-2 win.

Pennywell Comrades A started well away to Murton Officials with Kevin Harrop securing the frame, while Joe Turner won the second frame.

Stephen Clementson started a comeback for Murton before Eddie Williamson levelled the match.

In the pairs, Clementson/Eddie Williamson won Murton the match beating Harrop/Dean Taylor 57-48 for the 3-2 win.

Steels surged to a 4-1 victory over Biddick A, thanks to Lee Norton, Ray Charlton Senior, Ray Charlton Junior and Jimmy Gales.

In the pairs, Graham Smith/Steven Tate won Biddick a consolation point beating Tommy Ayre/Vince Flynn 66-54 to reduce the defeat to 4-1.

Thomas Gwyn got Glendale off to a good start away to Biddick B.

Peter Mills quickly levelled the match, before John Danby, Paul Atkinson opened up a lead for Glendale.

Atkinson teamed up with John Wiseman to win the pairs frame, beating Philip Straughan/Mills for the 4-1 win.

Andrew Doran got Pennywell Comrades B off to a winning start at home against Mill View, with Chris Hallett increasing the lead in the next frame.

John Spruce pulled one back for Mill View before Anthony Longstaff won the fourth frame.

In the pairs, Spruce/Steve Chandler beat Eddie Dodds/Longstaff 59-39 to reduce the defeat to 3-2.

South Hylton B entertained Seaham Conservatives A and started well with Ian Stewart and Bobby Boyce winning the first two frames.

Michael Monaghan responded for Seaham before Ian Hughes levelled the match.

In the pairs, Monaghan/Gary Stockton won Seaham the match when they defeated Tony Hazard/Paul Buckley 68-53 for an excellent 3-2 win.

The Hetton Centre travelled to The Victory and started well with Joe Nord and Paul Stoves winning the first two frames.

Darren Dowell pulled one back for The Victory, before Ray James soon levelled the match.

In the pairs, Darren Dowell/Ray James won The Victory the match, seeing off Stoves/Stephen Rushworth for the 3-2 win.