Bolt’s champion in fantastic fours

Silksworth's County fours winners (from left): Ian Riches, Neal Ridley, David Bolt, Phillip Dixon
Silksworth's County fours winners (from left): Ian Riches, Neal Ridley, David Bolt, Phillip Dixon
Have your say

SILKSWORTH’S former England star David Bolt had mixed fortunes in the Durham County Championship finals at Houghton Dairy Lane.

Bolt triumphed in a thrilling fours final on the morning, but endured disappointment with defeat in the singles final later in the day.

Bolt skipped Phillip Dixon, Neal Ridley and Ian Riches against Darlington RA’s Noah Cummings, Tony Macey, John Fielding and Andrew Kirtland, but they suffered a nightmare start, dropping an opening end six.

Kirtland gradually built up a 9-1 lead and, despite Bolt saving several tricky situations, the Darlington RA rink extended the lead to 14-5 after nine ends.

But, over the next 12 ends, Bolt proved to be the difference between the teams as he converted head after head and, by the 18th end, Silksworth led 20-16.

The RA quartet responded with five shots over the next two ends to lead 21-20 with one end to play. The decider changed several times, but Bolt drew in a second shot to lie game and, when Kirtland dropped short with his final bowl, the Silksworth quartet celebrated a fantastic comeback and a county fours title.

In the afternoon, Bolt and Kirtland went head to head again in the blue riband singles final, both players surprisingly agreeing to play on the same rink as the fours final.

The early exchanges saw Kirtland open up a 9-1 lead as Bolt struggled to recapture the magic from the morning. Bolt was always playing catch-up and Kirtland went on to secure a fifth county singles title with a 21-15 success.

Other county final results – pairs: B Attwood (Leeholme) 19 M English (Dipton) 17; Triples: A.Macey (Darlington RA) 18 E Henry (Pelton Fell) 15; Junior singles: L Macey (Darlington RA) 21 M Gleeson (Leeholme) 19; Two-bowl singles: D Warnaby (Leadgate) 15 V Rewcastle (Darlington RA) 10; Champion of Champions: B Hopkins (Dalington South Park) 21 A Hinds (Eldon Grove) 13