Banjo strums his way to a great victory

Have your say

ANTH “Banjo” Skelton stole the show in week 22 of The Knack Darts Premier League, as he checked out on 170 during his 5-2 win against Steve Skinner.

Anth also hit his 13th 180 of the season and won in legs of 15, 17(twice) 20 and 21 darts.

Kevin Guy was once again in superb form with a stunning 5-1 win against fourth-placed Davey Thompson, with best legs of 14, 15, 18, 20 and 21 darts to record an excellent 27.98 per dart average, including two 180s.

Leader Neil Rose bounced back from his first defeat last week at the hands of Guy to edge out Paul Gillibrand in a 5-3 thriller.

Rose equalled the best leg of the season with a tremendous 12-darter with scores of 78, 134, 180 and a 109 checkout.

He followed that up with another 180 as he won the deciding leg in 15 darts with a 120 checkout and also won legs in 17 darts (twice).

Paul hit a 180 of his own as he won in legs of 19, 20 and 21 darts.

Graham Mullen also got back to winning ways with a 5-1 win against Alan Smith.

However, it was Alan who started the stronger with a fine 15-dart leg. But Mullen stormed back to win five straight legs with best legs of 17(twice), 19 and 21(twice).

Second-placed Eddie Ashman was in fine form with a 5-0 win against John Allan, featuring legs of 17(twice), 18 and 21 darts.

Ryhope’s John Redpath picked up three more valuable points with a 5-2 victory against Phil Dunn as he looked to cement his place in finals night.

Neil Richardson made it seven games unbeaten with a solid 5-1 win against Martin Price, with both players hitting 20-dart legs.

Spiller Henderson and Anthony Gale shared the points as Spiller let a 4-1 lead slip as Gale.

Davey Thompson was ruthless as he made it 10 whitewashes for the season with a 5-0 win against John Redpath.

Results: Neil Rose 5 Paul Gillibrand 3; Kevin Guy 5 Davey Thompson 1; John Allan 0 Eddie Ashman 5; Anth Skelton 5 Steve Skinner 2; Neil Richardson 5 Martin Price 1; Phil Dunn 2 John Redpath 5; Graham Mullen 5 Alan Smith 1; Spiller Henderson 4 Anthony Gale 4; Davey Thompson 5 John Redpath 0.