Anderson the main man + SLIDESHOW

Have your say


SPENNYMOOR rider Craig Anderson won the main event as Houghton Cycling Club promoted the second in their series of circuit racing at the Gateshead College and Sasmi Test Track (the former Nissan track).

Senior race at Nissan.

Senior race at Nissan.

There was a field of 29 riders in the National B race for Elite/first/second/third category riders which lasted for 90 minutes.

The winner was Anderson, of Achieve-Skinnergate Racing, seeing off Harry Tanfield, of Herbalife-Leisure Lakes Bikes.

Sunderland Clarion’s Michael Sloanes was a creditable seventh. Chris Ranson, of Houghton CC, put in a good ride after competing in the previous race.

E 1/2/3 results: 1 Craig Anderson, Achieve-Skinnergate Racing, Catergory 1st, 30 Points. 2 Harry Tanfield, Herbalife-Leisure Lakes Bikes, Elite, 25. 3 William Brown, Velo29-Blackhawk, 1st, 21. 4 John Brown, 2nd, 17. 5 Giles Harrison, ActivCycles-Corbridge RT, 2nd, 14. 6 Angus Gillies,, 2nd, 12. 7 Michael Sloanes, Sunderland Clarion CC, 2nd, 10. 8 David Johnson,, 2nd, 8. 9 Adam Robertson,, 2nd, 7. 10 Collin Humphrey, Achieve-Skinnergate Racing, 1st, 6. 11 Sean Noon, Team ASL360, 3rd, 5. 12 Callum Grieve, Loughborough Students CC, 2nd, 4. 13 David Crawley, Rock to Roll Cycles Ltd, 3rd, 3. 14 Ben Hetherington, Dirtwheels Cycles, 2nd, 2. 15 James Anderson, Blackhawk Bikes, 2nd, 1.

 In the earlier 60-minute Regional B race, for third and fourth category riders, there was a field of almost 40 riders and they stayed together for most of the race, resulting in a sprint finish, which included a great ride by Houghton CC’s Richie Ranson, who finished third, and clubmate Chris Ranson in 10th.

3/4 Results: 1 David Crawley, Rock to Roll Cycles Ltd, Category 3rd, Points 10. 2 Jonathan Caisley, Northumbria Police CC, 3rd, 8. 3 Richard Ranson, Houghton CC, 3rd, 7. 4 Harry Craig, ActivCycles-Corbridge RT, A, 6. 5 Alex Luhrs, Gosforth RC, 3rd, 5. 6 James Howard, unattached, 4th, 4. 7 Stuart Neilson, Fietsen Tempo, 3rd, 3. 8 Joseph Davison, Ashburn Wealth, 3rd, 2. 9 James Peacock, Achieve-Skinnergate Racing, 3rd, 1. 10 Chris Ranson, Houghton CC, 3rd, 1.

Tuesday’s evening Houghton CC nine-mile time trial event was won again by Hetton Hawks’ Luke Mullen.

The 17-year-old has great potential and he completed the ride in 21 minutes 14 seconds. Ingrid Shepherd (Sunderland Clarion) completed the race in 25.38 and Alison Raine (Houghton CC) finished in 27.08.

Club evening 9-mile time trial results: Luke Mullen, Hetton Hawks, 21 minutes 14 seconds. Paul Whitehill, Houghton CC, 21.37. Neil Wallbank, Sunderland Clarion, 21.42. Ian Jobling, Houghton CC, 22.15. R Mitford, Cestria CC, 22.18. J Harrison, Infinity Cycles, 23.03. J Hodgson, Houghton CC, 23.08. P Tuckwell, Houghton CC, 23.23. P Alderston, Sunderland Clarion, 23.25. R Honour, MTS Cycles, 23.54. A Cato, Sunderland Clarion, 23.59. J Roberts, Cestria CC, 24.07. P White, Houghton CC, 24.58. Ingrid Shepherd, Sunderland Clarion, 25.38. S Kerr, Sunderland Clarion, 25.44. D Hardy, Sunderland Clarion, 25.45. R Ritz, Cestria CC, 25.50. Joe Applegarth, Houghton CC, 25.56. Steve Homer, Houghton CC, 25.57. R Davidson, Houghton CC, 26.00. P Cox, Houghton CC 26.15. Mal Sellers, Houghton CC, 26.25. C Taylor, Houghton CC, 26.53. Barry Richards, Houghton CC, 27.00. Andy Hardy, Houghton CC, 27.04. Alison Raine, Houghton CC, 27.08. C Oxberry, Houghton CC, 27.13. Peter Baggley, Sunderland Clarion, 27.15. J Long, Sunderland Clarion, 27.55. Brian Henderson, Houghton CC, 28.24.

Ian Jobling (Houghton CC) rode the Tyneside Vagabonds open 10-mile time trial in 23.46 minutes, a personal best.

There was a field of 26 riders and the winner was Jon Sturman (Active Cycles) in 21.06.