Sunderland Under-23s to face these five sides in pre-season friendlies as dates revealed

Sunderland’s Under-23 squad will play five pre-season games this summer, it has been confirmed.

Friday, 18th June 2021, 4:14 pm
Sunderland's Stadium of Light.
Sunderland's Stadium of Light.

Ahead of the new Premier League 2 Division 2 campaign, the club has confirmed details of the friendly fixtures.

Elliott Dickman's team will begin their preparations away to West Auckland on Thursday, July 8 at 7pm, before taking on Consett at the Academy of Light on Tuesday, July 13 (KO 7pm).

The pre-season programme continues with a trip to Hebburn Town on Wednesday, July 28 (KO 7pm), before visiting Whitby Town on Saturday, July 31 at 2pm.

Sign up to our Sunderland AFC newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Sunderland’s second string will then head to Darlington on August 4. Details around ‘potential attendances’ at these fixtures will be announced in due course.

List of confirmed Under-23 pre-season matches:

Thursday 8 July: West Auckland (A), 7pm

Tuesday 13 July: Consett (H), 7pm

Wednesday 28 July: Hebburn Town (A), 7pm

Saturday 31 July: Whitby Town (A), 2pm

Wednesday 4 August: Darlington (A), 7pm

A message from the Football Clubs Editor

Our aim is to provide you with the best, most up-to-date and most informative Sunderland AFC coverage 365 days a year.

This depth of coverage costs, so to help us maintain the high-quality reporting that you are used to, please consider taking out a subscription to our new sports-only package here.

Your support is much appreciated. Richard Mennear, Football Clubs Editor