Sunderland Under-18s suffer cup exit at Man City

Mikael Mandron
Mikael Mandron
Have your say

A CLASSY young Manchester City side had just too much for Sunderland last night as Craig Liddle’s side suffered a third-round exit in the FA Youth Cup.

The Black Cats travelled to Stockport County’s Edgeley Park entertaining hopes of dumping the Blues out of the competition – as they had done in 2008.

But goals from rising young City stars Sinan Bytyqi, Jose Angel Pozo and Marcos Lopes were enough to put paid to those dreams.

City youth team coach Attilio Lombardo put out his strongest side and it showed from the start as the home team tore into the visitors.

But Sunderland keeper Johnny Maddison was in exceptional form and he beat out a string of early City attacks before the home took the lead through Austrian youth cap Bytyqi.

The goal was created by Devante Cole, who took possession with his back to goal and held the ball up for Bytyqi’s run before playing in the striker, who finished well from a narrow angle as Maddison raced out.

City doubled their lead through the eye-catching Pozo just before half-time when he turned on a shot 20 yards which found the bottom corner. It was a goal from nothing from the Spaniard.

The home team produced arguably their best football of the season and kept it going into the second half, getting a killer third goal in the 66th minute through Lopes, who fired a shot into the roof of Maddison’s net.

Sunderland grabbed a consolation goal almost immediately through striker Mikael Mandron (pictured), who chipped a shot over Ian Lawlor.

That strike was just reward for Sunderland, who refused to give up despite the superiority of their opposition.

But there was to be no late comeback from the Black Cats, with City looking the more likely side to score in the closing stages of the game.

MANCHESTER CITY: Lawlor, Bossaerts, Leigh, Evans, Plummer, Rekik, Ntcham (Bryan 80), Bytyqi, Cole, Lopes, Pozo (Byrne 84). Subs: Marin, Gunn, Barker

SUNDERLAND: Maddison, Noble, Lane, Cartwright, Burn, McNamee, Smith, Agnew, Mandron, Honeyman, Gooch. Subs: Thomas, Burke, Hope, Holland, Robson