Sunderland’s retained list confirmed

Phil Bardsley
Phil Bardsley
Have your say

SUNDERLAND’S outgoing players have been confirmed after the club registered their retained list with the Premier League.

The departures of first-teamers Carlos Cuellar, Keiren Westwood, Andrea Dossena, Oscar Ustari, Craig Gardner and Phil Bardsley have all been rubber-stamped.

Bardsley was the only one of those six players who entered into talks over staying at the Stadium of Light, yet the full-back rejected the chance to remain on Wearside by penning a three-year deal with Stoke City earlier this week.

Sunderland’s contract offers to Seb Larsson and Jack Colback have also been confirmed, with the midfield pair still mulling over the Black Cats’ proposals.

Among the members of Sunderland’s Under-21 squad, John Egan, Louis Laing, Billy Knott, Alex Gorrin and Jordan Watson have been released.

Fellow youngsters Joel Dixon, Scott Harrison, George Honeyman, Liam Agnew, Tom Beadling, Peter Burke, Andrew Cartwright, Carl Lawson, Tom McNamee and Tom Robson have all been offered new contracts.

RETAINED SUNDERLAND SQUAD: Altidore, Ba, Bridcutt, Brown, Cabral, Cattermole, Diakite, Fletcher, Giaccherini, Graham, Johnson, Moberg Karlsson, Mannone, Mavrias, N’Diaye, O’Shea, Pickford, Roberge, Scocco, Wickham.

RETAINED U21 SQUAD: Blinco, Colquhoun, Ellison, Ferguson, Gooch, Greenwood, Ledger, Mandron, McEvoy, Oliver, E Robson, Smith, Stryjek, Sukar, Talbot, Watmore.

UNDER OFFER: Agnew, Beadling, Burke, Cartwright, Colback, Dixon, Harrison, Honeyman, Larsson, Lawson, McNamee, T Robson

FREE TRANSFERS: Bardsley, Cuellar, Dossena, Egan, Gardner, Knott, Laidler, Laing, Gorrin, Ustari, Vaughan, Watson, Westwood.