Sunderland’s John O’Shea set to win 105th Ireland cap

Republic of Ireland manager Martin O'Neill speaks with John O'Shea (right)
Republic of Ireland manager Martin O'Neill speaks with John O'Shea (right)
Have your say

John O’Shea hasn’t yet featured for Sunderland’s first team this season but he is hoping to earn his 105th cap for the Republic of Ireland after being called-up for their Euro 2016 qualifiers.

The experienced defender didn’t make Dick Advocaat’s team for the defeats at Leicester City and at home to Norwich.

But despite not kicking a ball in anger, it hasn’t prevented Ireland boss Martin O’Neill from including him in the squad for next month’s Euro 2016 qualifiers against Gibraltar and Georgia.

O’Shea is currently on 104 caps for his national side. He could be set for a return to the Sunderland line-up for this weekend’s visit of Swansea City though, with Advocaat considering a defensive U-turn.

Bournemouth midfielder Eunan O’Kane is one of three uncapped players - Brentford’s Alan Judge and Adam Rooney of Aberdeen are the others - included in ex-Sunderland manager O’Neill’s provisional squad of 37.

O’Neill said: “These are two very important games in our qualifying campaign and we are looking forward to them.

“The players are all now back in action with their respective clubs and will be ready for these games.

“We will be training at the new FAI National Training Centre in preparation for the trip to Faro to take on Gibraltar and the home game against Georgia at Aviva Stadium.”

O’Neill’s men currently sit in fourth place in the group on nine points, two behind the Scots in third with Germany on 13 and leaders Poland on 14.

Newcastle’s Rob Elliot is also in the squad.

Squad: David Forde (Millwall), Shay Given (Stoke), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday), Darren Randolph ( West Ham), Rob Elliot (Newcastle), Richard Keogh (Derby), Marc Wilson (Stoke), Seamus Coleman (Everton), Cyrus Christie (Derby), John O’Shea (Sunderland), Alex Pearce (Derby), Ciaran Clark (Aston Villa), Paul McShane (Reading), James McCarthy (Everton), Jeff Hendrick (Derby), Stephen Ward (Burnley), Greg Cunningham (Preston), Harry Arter (Bournemouth), Glenn Whelan (Stoke), Eunan O’Kane (Bournemouth), Aiden McGeady (Everton), James McClean (West Brom), Alan Judge (Brentford), Robbie Brady (Norwich), Anthony Pilkington (Cardiff), Stephen Quinn (Reading), David Meyler (Hull), Wes Hoolahan (Norwich), Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy), Shane Long (Southampton), Daryl Murphy (Ipswich), Jon Walters (Stoke), Kevin Doyle (Colorado Rapids), Anthony Stokes (Celtic), David McGoldrick (Ipswich), Adam Rooney (Aberdeen), Simon Cox (Reading).