Sunderland 2 Manchester United Under-21s 1: Story of the night as Cats progress in Papa John's Trophy after Tyrese Dyce and Stephen Wearne goals

Sunderland have progressed to the knockout stages of the Papa John’s Trophy after a 2-1 win over Manchester United Under-21s

Wednesday, 13th October 2021, 9:56 pm

The Black Cats boss named just one 'qualifying' first-team player by the competition’s rules as Denver Hume captained the side.

Hume has just recovered from a hamstring injury and needs game time, yet Johnson resisted the temptation to play any other senior players.

Sunderland’s youngsters made a positive impression, though, as Tyrese Dyce put his side ahead in the second half at the Stadium of Light.

Sign up to our Sunderland AFC newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Sunderland vs Manchester United Under-21s live blog.

United drew level after an excellent strike from Zidane Iqbel, yet Stephen Wearne’s header secured the win for the hosts.

Following last week’s 2-1 win at Lincoln, Sunderland have qualified from Northern Group F with a game to spare, against League Two side Bradford which will take place on November 9.

Here’s how the match played out at the Stadium of Light against United’s under-21 side.

A message from the Football Clubs Editor

Our aim is to provide you with the best, most up-to-date and most informative Sunderland AFC coverage 365 days a year.

This depth of coverage costs, so to help us maintain the high-quality reporting that you are used to, please consider taking out a subscription to our new sports-only package here.

Your support is much appreciated. Richard Mennear, Football Clubs Editor

RECAP: Sunderland 2 (Dyce, 50) (Wearne, 66) Manchester United Under-21s 1 (Iqbal, 57)

Last updated: Wednesday, 13 October, 2021, 21:51

  • Sunderland XI: Carney, Richardson, Almond, Younger, Hume (Kachosa, 71), Scott, Sonha, Wearne, Dyce, Taylor, Harris
  • Subs: McIntyre, Jessup, Kachosa, Ryder, Middlemas, Johnson, Kelly
  • Manchester United U21s XI: Mee, McShane, Hardley, Wellens, Fernandez, Savage, McNeil, Hoogewerf (Forson, 81), Mather, Iqbal, Hugill (Norkett, 81)
  • Subs: Vitek, Bennett, Jurado, Forson, Ennis, Norkett, Murray
Page Infinity of 5